Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Surfer Girl – Monochrome Madness

81 Comments

I did end up asking this girl if I could take her photo but that was after I took this LOL.  It did feel a bit odd sneaking up behind her.  Taking photos of people is not something that I get excited about, but once in awhile I’ll give it a whirl….and then I remember why I like landscapes, macros and architecture so much haha.

Surfer Girl

Surfer Girl

For the entire gallery, please check Leanne Cole’s blog.

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

81 thoughts on “Surfer Girl – Monochrome Madness

  1. Nicely composed. You probably did what I do when I take candid shots, which is show them the pic and say what I intend to do with them. Some people are pleased – others don’t want to appear on a blog. Mostly I ask before I take the picture, but sometimes that ruins the moment.

    • I didn’t show her the pic but I did get her email address and sent them to her because she asked after she agreed to the photo. Never heard from her though. Guess I got the wrong address or she didn’t like it or she never made it back to the beach after her next surf! Yes that’s my poor attempt at humor. lol

  2. A nice contemplative moment, well-captured 🙂 At least you got her permission. 🙂

  3. Well composed, nicely done Laura.

  4. Dark in photo good 🙂

  5. I think it’s a great photo…

  6. Very nice photo! … and I know exactly what you mean! 🙂

  7. yea … telling them tends to ruin the moment ….. its better to take the shot and maybe later show them …

  8. Yes, I do like this “portrait” although I don’t know what your other shots looked like. I have zero rapport with people which is why I shoot what I do. Nice one for the challenge.

  9. The only photos of people I take are of my kids. I don’t think I could do any sort of street photography or take photos of other people. Perhaps if a human element would add to the photo I might do it if the opportunity comes up, but most of the time I’m actually taking photos when no one else is around. I always like to be secluded and away from others when I’m out taking photos. Unless I’m on a photo walk with other photographers of course.

    • Me too Justin. i can totally relate. Taking people photos and viewing people photos (unless they were my kid photos) are just not exciting to me at all. Nature is what does it for me. Thanks for your comments.

  10. Pingback: Black Eyes | The Shady Tree

  11. Pingback: Mumbai Local Train. | To Wear A Rainbow

  12. Love your composition, Laura. Easier when their back is turned! The texture of the sand with the smooth board is a nice contrast.

  13. It’s a lovely portrait…what’s not to love? I’m the other way round -much prefer shooting people.

  14. Laura, I like this image for its lines and shapes.

  15. Love everything about this…..perspective, composition and that gorgeous light

  16. Wow! Love it Laura! You sneak you 😀

  17. Great shot! Funny you asked her after – but at least you asked her. I like to “try” and take street shots sans them knowing – I shoot from behind as your shot. And I now sort of shy away from street shots as I got yelled at – I was trying to get a shot – not full frontal face – and she and her husband started screaming at me (in French I live in Paris) – I did not even take a shot – I walked away – a bit shocked – and have been humbled by this! 🙂

    • Geez…that’s awful! lol I think I’d never take another people shot in my life! Well, I asked her only because she turned around after this shot and I felt like I had to haha.

  18. Great composure, excellent photo!!

  19. I like the photo….it kind of has a mysterious air about it…makes you wonder who she is and what she’s doing all alone on that beach, even what she’s thinking. Yep, good picture!

  20. I love simple photos like that because they speak a million words. Great job.

  21. I think the shot is excellent, but then again, I’ve always been partial to black and white and you do such a good job of it.

  22. Lovely composition, great perspective….

  23. wonderful composition Laura. I love your mono! Surfing in winter!! Brrrr! I guess I’m too old for that sort of thing!! 😀

  24. You are so funny the the the way you put things, Laura. Sneaking up on people. But permission to photograph is an interesting topic. I guess the best policy is to request permission and hope that your photo doesn’t become famous. Apparently that’s when all the problems begin 😊. Yep, landscapes are simpler tee hee.

  25. And this is so nice that it could become famous!

  26. She appears wistful. Maybe because she has no surf. Cool photo!

  27. Very fine photo – I like the perspective. Monochrome Madness is NICE – I feel I am beginning to be dependent 😉

  28. Wonderful light. Great composition.

  29. I love this Laura – its such a classic shot.
    The subject and contrasts are wonderful.
    Beautiful 😃

  30. You are an amazing photographer! ❤

  31. I love the photo! it will often “grab” the photo and then show people what I have, always emailing them a copy. sometime I hear from them, sometimes I don’t. I just can’t resist the temptation when I see a great image….. no one has ever asked me to delete an image through so I am happy about that.

Leave a Reply

