Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Sailing in Pacific Grove, California

58 Comments

The other day we heard it would be 82 degrees down in the Monterey area, specifically Pacific Grove, so we headed down on Sunday morning to enjoy the area.  Sure enough we were met with the warmest day we’ve ever felt there and indeed it ended up being exactly 82 degrees.  It is so unusual for it to be warmer there than where we live.

Pacific Grove is about 1.5 hours south of SF.  A bit further south than that is Carmel and Big Sur, and we’ll be going there later in the year.  I hope to catch some beautiful sunsets….if it’s not foggy that is.  It can be extremely foggy especially at sunrise and sunset, so I will cross my fingers for the sun!

Sailing Afar

Sailing Afar

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

58 thoughts on “Sailing in Pacific Grove, California

  1. I spent my first grade year in Monterey, then visited it in my ladt vacation as a non-parent. This picture brings me many smiles.

  2. That is just an absolutely gorgeous picture!

  3. Laura, I love how you captured that wave in midair and the sailboat perfectly posed. Stunning shot.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

  4. Lucky you! (he says from storm rattled new England)

  5. Magnificent capture, Laura! The waves are beautiful, and the sailboat in the background is a really nice touch. 🙂 Are those cormorants sitting on the rocks?

    • Thank you Katrina! Yes, those are cormorants. We have a lot of those around these parts. They are even nesting on the old bay bridge and there are some outside our back deck on the pond too.

  6. Lovely photograph, rich with action, tone and colour. My husband and I drove the Big Sur in 2000 but I got terrible food poisoning so didn’t engage with most of the journey as I would have liked. We hope to make the journey again some day – sans illness.

  7. Great shot, nice to see water that is not frozen:)

  8. Not suffering the snow and sub zero temperatures that your fellow Americans on the East Coast are contending with then…..;0)

  9. What is the eeather like now? All we see on our TV is how hard The USA is being hit by snow

  10. I grew up in Santa Cruz so I know that, when the sun shines, that area is one of the most beautiful on earth. So glad you had a good day.

  11. Magic Laura, love the sail boat!

  12. I saw a sail boat the other day when I was at the coast too, but it too far away and just a speck, I couldn’t anything like your image. From the images you’ve shown looks like a great stretch of beach.

    • Thanks Leanne. It is amazing down there. Everywhere from Monterey to Big Sur which are miles and miles of ocean front…it’s all magical. Come to think of it, most all of California coast is beautiful! Can’t wait for you to see it. 🙂

  13. It was 37 deg today. Not fair

  14. Wishing I could dive right into this image. Laura, this is magnificent!! Glorious! I LOVE how you edited this one. Just wow!!! Love, Amy

  15. Love the sea birds (cormorants?) on the rocks–what a nice bonus to an already wonderful image!

  16. 82 degrees, in Celcius, is??? I get confused my American measure 😉

  17. A beautiful way to spend a day!

  18. Beautiful shot, Laura. It sounds like a perfect day. 🙂

  19. oh my!! Summer again!! Beautiful Laura – but a bit scary with the weather these days!!

  20. Beautiful Laura – hope you had a great day!

  21. Oh, simply gorgeous, Laura. What a special day to enjoy!

Leave a Reply

