Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Spark Stoves Barn

110 Comments

May I get excited for a moment?  I LOVE MY NEW CAMERA AND LENSES!   Whew.  I had to get that out.  🙂

For those of you who don’t know, a few months ago I purchased my first full frame, a Nikon D750, and I have to say that I’m enjoying it so much along with the lens that came with it which is a 24-120 f/4.  This lens is an awesome for everyday use!  It is so sharp and I’ve noticed that I can do a lot more with these images in PP because of its sharpness.

One of the two days I’ve gotten out this past month I took this barn photo.  We were driving through the beautiful green hills and I spied this barn.  I thought it was so unusual with the lettering on the side.  I wish I knew why the lettering was there.  I can only assume it’s some sort of advertising.

Spark Stoves Barn

Spark Stoves Barn

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

110 thoughts on “Spark Stoves Barn

  1. Great photograph. Enjoy the new camera.

  2. Beautiful Laura xx Enjoy your new camera

  3. No excuses now then!
    The question is, will you take more or fewer shots with your new camera……
    Are the (presumably) large file sizes more of a problem to work with?

  4. I can’t believe there are only 3 comments on this fantastically beautiful photo! OK, 4 counting mine. And 33 likes so I guess it’s not as bad as I first thought. But the image itself, accented by the lighting and shadows and who cares if it was the lens, the camera, the photographer, or the processing, it’s just amazing! I love it.

  5. Congrats on your new baby!!! 🙂

  6. Great image, Laura. I really like the contrast between the dark foreboding skies and the shafts of sunlight on the scene.

  7. Great shot! And congratulations on your new D750! I hear lots of good things about it. It is supposed to be quite excellent for videos as well. Have fun!

  8. What a lovely shot of the barn!
    Congratulations on your new baby, have fun with the D750!

  9. Beautiful!

  10. This is one of those images that when I see it in my reader, I go “oh, my” to myself. It is gorgeous!

  11. Superb shot! 🙂
    Yes… it looks like advertising. Great lens and camera! 🙂

  12. Great shot. I think the photographer (you) can use any lens to get great photos!

  13. Spectacular, Laura!!! My brother who I told you about, just bought this camera and lens and he is just in heaven with it. I’ve been getting a steady streams of “oh look what I shot!” pics. This is one of my dreams too, and hopefully I’ll be jumping for glee with my new toy. Good for you and just a phenomenal shot!!! Love, Amy

    • Thank you so much! I’m really in love with my camera. At first I thought, oh this is a kit lens but then I started using it and researching it. It’s a great lens! I don’t need the 20-70 2.8. I don’t do much low light anyway. I always have the 14-24! lol I’m glad your brother likes this combo too!

      • Oh that lens is the furthest thing from a kit lens, Laura! I’ve been particular with f/2.8 lenses (except for my 70-300 which is an f/4 I think), but what my brother has been saying and showing me, I am hoping that the lense offered with my dream camera, will function just as good. I HOPE! The clarity on my camera seems to be going a bit, which leaves me really working in the edting room even harder. I’m going to try cleaning my sensor to see if that helps any. Anyways, I am SO happy for YOU and I am SO glad YOU are feeling better. I’m getting there. (((HUGS))) Amy

        • Yeah I had no idea it wasn’t a regular kit lens when I got the camera until I started using it! lol I love it! And for landscapes it works great. What is your dream camera? I was looking at the D810 but the file sizes are so huge and it’s huge too. Weight is always a consideration for me. Thanks for the well wishes btw. Today is the best I’ve felt in a month! Almost well. Hurray!!!

  14. I’m loving your new camera and lens too by the way 😀

  15. Congrats. I’d love a full frame camera but i’m hesitant cause my work is mainly street photography and I love the micro 4/3 cameras available now, the Olympus camera’s are perfect for the street. Btw, great shot and I know you’ve got a beautiful new camera and lens but I think you would have no trouble taking great shots with any camera afterall it’s the photgrapher behind the camera that really makes the great shot. Have a great day!

    • Thank you so much for your kind comments Mark. And you’re right. I had a D7100 prior and if I did street photography, I wouldn’t have switched. I like those smaller format cameras too. They’re awesome for travel as well! There’s a Sony I have my eye on but it’ll have to wait. You have a great day too!

  16. Nice shot. Must be the camera…… lol.

  17. Nicely moody, love it!

  18. Nice to read that you are enjoying your new Nikon & Lens. I totally enjoy my new Nikon D7000 with 2 Nikkor Lens’s. The Images, like you said, are nice and sharp. Better than my Pentax K10D. Despite it being windy and cold today, I went out there to see some Snow Geese that are over at our local watershed. There were hundreds of them out on the ice & water, along with a large number of Canada Geese. Even though I had my tripod set up, the wind was so bad that it would shake the whole set up, much to my dismay. Came away with nothing to show for my trouble. Looks like I might not get out there again for a bit. Supposed to snow tomorrow, again! Getting weary of the darn snow! I’m ready for some warmer weather. Enjoy!

    • Thank you Les! I have a bunch of lenses for this camera now but I’m finding the 24-120mm a nice everyday lens. A shame it was so windy. I love snow geese! We don’t see them much in the part of the bay area I live in but I have seen them flying above in other spots. They have a beautiful sound overhead when they’re flying. I’ll look forward to see what you get. When you get it!

  19. Very nice shot – I bet IR might pull out the signage…Glad you like your FX – as i noted, I just got my FX – no more rentals – I got the Nikon D800 and now I can use all my good Nikkor glass that I have accumulated over the years without the 1.5x focal length issue. Happy day (as soon as I am through reading through the manual…)

  20. Full-frame is the way to go. Love Nikon.

  21. It helps to have a good photographer behind the camera, nicely done Laura.

  22. Hi Laura, once upon a time barn adverts were common, when we were a rural society, at least in the nidwest. It’s really a lovely photo and excellent camera choice too. Now about Leanne saying you want to be just like the rest of us? You will remain uniquely Laura, I am sure. 🙂

  23. This is a beautiful picture! I have often thought about doing a series of barn photos, i love their structure and texture. Now you have inspired me!

  24. Love the photo and apparently you are not the only one to have photographed this barn. Just google “sparks stove” and see what you get! But, I like your image the best! Great shot.

  25. Beautiful shot Laura. I have always like old barns. Congratulations on the new camera. Take care and Happy Snapping. -Max-

  26. It is your eye not the camera that makes your photography so good. You knew it was worth stopping because of that ‘something’ that you knew would make a (great) photograph. Though it is in color and I lean toward B&W, just like at an art museum it made me stop and ‘savor’ the richness of that color. Great work Laura

  27. Lovely image, have fun with the new camera!

  28. Congrats, have a good time with the new camera and luckily we get to share in the joy with your stunning photos. 🙂
    Hope you can find time to drop by the Blog Party http://yadadarcyyada.com/2015/03/17/march-madness-spring-fling-blog-party/ and share your amazing photography with others. 🙂

  29. What a treat for you to have such a gorgeous camera and lens. The photo is just superb. 🙂

  30. I forgot to mention the photo of the barn. Nice HDR effect on it. I enjoy doing HDR myself and do Post one once in a while. There are a number of old Barns around my area, but very few and far between. The ones that I look for are painted with a “Reynolds Tobacco” painted on the side from long ago. You have to go further South to find these. I’ll keep the old Barns in mind.

    • Ah I did use a bit of tone-mapping. I also isolated the lettering on one side and brought out the detail so it popped. Thanks to infraredrobert for that suggestion. I do love barns but here in the bay area they are hardly around. I’d love to see your reynolds tobacco barn photos if you have any. Thank you Les.

  31. Beautiful colors. How is the D750 on stop action? I use a D5100. I have mixed results capturing moving wildlife.

  32. I love your new eye too!! Gorgeous colour!

  33. I love the photo… one could build so many stories around that…

  34. What a great capture! I love old barns. 🙂

  35. I can imagine you hit the brakes hard for this one Laura ! Love it ! Great to hear all your enthusiasm with your new camera 🙂 Lots to enjoy !

  36. What a super photo!! I’m so happy you love your new camera and lens 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

