Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Welcome – One Photo Focus

56 Comments

THIS IS A SCHEULED POST.  I WILL RETURN TO CHECKING BLOGS SOON.  It’s One Photo Focus time!  This really is a fun challenge.  We were all given an image to work on, so I’ve posted both my image and the original below it.  Thank you to Cee Neuner for the original image!

The Process:

Because this house has such a homey, cozy feeling with the huge greenery providing a framework for the front door and porch, I decided on cropping it to tell the story of how good it would feel to approach this house.  Then I ran it through Topaz Restyle and chose a palette to represent the sun setting.  After that I applied Topaz Impression at a reduced opacity and then dodged and burned just a bit here and there.  Finally I added some neutral density filters selectively around the edges.  Hope you enjoy it.

Check out the entire ABFriday Challenge and also Stacy’s Post too!

onephotoapril

 

 

Original Image

Original Image by Cee Neuner

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

56 thoughts on “Welcome – One Photo Focus

  1. A wonderful treatment. Takes a funny minimalist shot and makes it a photograph.

  2. What a transformation Laura! Nicely done!

  3. I love it, Laura. Well done. Your version looks so wonder-land like and there’s painter-ly feel about it. You made the house look even more welcoming than it already is. Love your work as usual 🙂

  4. i love this.. makes it look like a painting.. well done 🙂

  5. I love this soft painted feel, it really changes the image as well as the closer crop. I can actually imagine this as a painting. Nice work Laura.

    • Thank you Ben! I enjoy is challenge. And I can see others do as well! I’ll go through them more thoroughly when I get home. Being on the iPad makes it difficult at times.

  6. You’re an artist! Love it!

  7. Interesting interpretation. It does look like a painting

  8. I love your end result. Makes it so soft and interesting.

  9. Such a great old fashioned interoperation of my photo. I like your crop too!!!

  10. Good job in accomplishing the objectives you described in The Process paragraph.

  11. I like the painterly feel you’ve given to this, Laura.

  12. You have soooo much artistic talent Laura. Well done buddy!

  13. I really like this transformation, Laura! Well done. 🙂

  14. Not quite sure what I would do with this one…I do like your crop…glad to see a post from you, I was hoping all was well.

  15. Ooh I cropped mine similarly but gave it a VERY different emotional quality. It’s amazing what editing can do to the mood of a photo.

  16. Really interesting approach, Laura. The warm tones and the cropping gave it a very different mood. An excellent interpretation.

  17. It’s really interesting to see how different people process the photo so differently. I love your interpretation. You have brought out some marvelous colours and by tightening the framing, have distilled the essence of the mood. Very nice.

  18. Really nice painterly effects Laura. Love the way you have captured the light, it’s created a lovely image. Enjoy the rest of your holiday! 🙂

  19. I love the warm colours and the light in your edit

  20. Great job!!! The editing makes it look like a very cozy house 😀

  21. Laura, I love what you did to the original picture–it’s way warmer and cozier than it was before. You cropped it perfectly–nicely done.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

  22. What a great crop and final version. Love what you did!

  23. Of course, I love that you cropped it the way you did. Add the warm tones and painting effect, I would definitely feel good walking up to this house 🙂 Thanks, as always, for contributing to 1PF, Laura. It’s always such fun to see what you come up with!

  24. Beautiful edit, the close crop gives even more intimate feel.

Leave a Reply

