Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

White Tailed Kite

59 Comments

First off, I am no bird photographer that’s for sure, but I had to post this.  We have so many birds here where we live and one of my most favorite is the White Tailed Kite.  They are raptors and we can see them hunting small rodents as they fly above us or when they land in trees to scope out the area.  This is a juvenile in his first year.  Once he becomes an adult, he will lose the orange color on the throat.

With my full frame camera, a 300mm lens and the bird far away, they are not exactly conditions for great bird photography.  The first one was taken approximately 100 feet away, so it is severely cropped and therefore not as crisp as I would’ve liked, but I like the pose.   The second one was taken about 30 feet away and still cropped.   Even with a 300mm lens, unless the bird is fairly close, the subject will not fill the frame, therefore, cropping is needed.

Every morning and evening they have a wonderful screech as they fly around looking for their meal.  I really look forward to their sounds!  I hope you enjoy them.

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

59 thoughts on “White Tailed Kite

  1. Even cropped, these shots are amazing!!! He looks like he’s watching you! Beautiful camera work, beautiful photos! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. These are wonderful shots of this beautiful bird.

  3. Wonderful photos, Laura. I love the white-tailed kite too. Sometimes when they are kiting (flying in place) they look like angels. 😀

  4. You’re doing yourself a disservice to say you’re no bird photographer. More please!

  5. You’re an amazing photographer, birds or otherwise. This makes me want to fly… 🙂

  6. It must be boiling where you are…

  7. Great shots. Every nature photographer crops. No reason you should not try more birds.

  8. It looks like he was posing for you :-). If he had a camera, I bet he would have taken your picture. I’ve run into the same problem with my 300 mm zoom. I’m saving up for a 150 – 600 mm. I’d really like 1000 mm, but at $70,000+ it is waaaayyy out of my league! Lol

    • $70K hahaha! Sorry but can you imagine purchasing one of those? I’d have to have armed guards with me at all times lol. I wish I could handle the Tamron. i rented it but I just can’t hold it or even deal with putting it on my tripod. I have issues with my hands and it’s just too heavy. I do love the pictures taken with that lens though!

      • Heck no I can’t!! I’d be too scared to use the darn thing in case I dropped it or kicked over my tripod! Maybe I should rent the Tamron before buying it because I have a bad back and shoulders so it might be too heavy for me. I didn’t even know you could rent lenses!

        • Yes! Rent the lens if you have those physical issues. it is HEAVY! I use borrowlenses.com. They are very good. I had it delivered to a local FedEx place. When you’re done, you just put it back in the box with the label they give you and take it back to the place where you picked it up. Sometimes you can have it delivered to a store nearby. There is a list on their site of the stores they use.

          • I will have to check them out. I think I would definitely like to try the lens out before tossing out $1k!! Thank you for all the information you give me, Laura it has helped me so much on my journey!!

          • Yes! I almost bought that lens without trying it. I spent $70 to rent it and found out I could save over $900 by not buying it lol. So glad I can help! Anytime.

  9. Cropping is a way of life with nature photography. No full frames, 500-600mm lens, and a bad back is included😀

  10. They look great Laura, although I was expecting the kind of kite with a string attached. 🙂

  11. 300mm lens. u lucky thing.
    fab shots.

  12. 300 mm works great! Great bird captures, Laura. 🙂

  13. great shot and nice timing 🙂

  14. Regardless of your critism, both of these images are outstanding, Laura. Beautiful job on both! I don’t know if you know Tiny, but she has a lens with a maximum of 600mm. I priced that baby at B&H photo and it sure aint cheap and yes it is made for a full frame camera. The brand name escapes me at the moment, but if you are really interested, I will go to to my wishlist on B&H and get the brand name for you. 🙂 LOL (((HUGS))) Amy ❤

    • It’s a Tamron 150-600mm I’ll bet. I rented it from borrowlenses.com thinking I might buy it. It’s not really that expensive around $1K I think. But I couldn’t handle it. As you know I have issues with my hands and neck and even trying to mount it on a tripod is out of the question for me. I would’ve loved that lens! It takes great pics. Thanks for the positive feedback on my white tailed kites. I really love those birds. 🙂

  15. Laura, I just looked. The brand is Tamron. And yes they have a lens for Nikon. 🙂 Hehehehehehe Don’t mean to put temptation in your way, yet, I thought it would be kind of me to let you know what I know. 🙂

    • Oh yes, the Nikon variety…it’s probably quadruple the price too! I have a friend who has a 300mm 2.8 Nikon lens and that lens I think is about $6K!!! I could never spend that amount on a lens.

      • 😳 OMG! It is the f/stop that makes that lens so pricey! No, the Tamron is not an f/2.8 but having seen Tiny’s photos and Neihtn’s too, this lens is awesome. Price for Canon is around $1K. I believe for Nikon it is the same. Some people can afford the best of the best, Laura, and we others do what we can. I consider myself very very fortunate to have what I do. ❤

        • Yes the 2.8 makes everything so much more expensive especially if it’s a longer lens. Yipes! Plus that Nikon 300mm 2.8 was HUGE! Seriously! It looked like one of those that the professionals use at a football game! It was even camouflaged LOL. I have a lot of lenses and I don’t think I need anymore. Maybe a Lee Big Stopper and a new tripod and and and…oh yeah and a mirrorless camera for travel. hahahaha! My husband is here innocently reading the paper as I type this LMAO!

  16. Nice… When I was a kid in school.. That is, school in Delhi, before I went off to the mountains to study, there would be lots of kites in Delhi. They would swoop down and grab our sandwiches. They do not need spectacles. Come to think of it, I have not seen kites in Delhi for a long, long time. Where did they go?

  17. That’s a beauty! I mostly hear the jay asking for breakfast but occasionally it is a Cooper’s Hawk or a red tailed Hawk. I love their distinctive screech.

Leave a Reply

