Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

SF Photowalk

35 Comments

Yesterday I took my camera club for an architectural photowalk in SF.  We started at the Embarcadero and meandered around the area.  I’ve barely looked at the images because I’m a bit busy today but did quickly work on this one a few minutes ago so I thought I’d post it.

Walking around a city shooting pictures isn’t something I’m used to….in fact I can’t remember the last time I did this so it was quite a challenge for me to see things in this way.  I’m more of a landscape-flower girl but really enjoyed the challenge!  It’s good to get out and stretch ourselves once in awhile me thinks. 🙂

Contrast

Contrast

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

35 thoughts on “SF Photowalk

  1. Wonderful pic. And, you are right, stretching is always good for the body, mind, and soul.

  2. Yes, I agree with you on moving outside our comfort zones…and you did quite well with this image…

    • Thank you Robert. I also try to look at all kinds of images so I have an idea of what to do when I’m in the situation. It’s fun to try and see things. And in your case….bwahahaha!

  3. Good job Laura I love it! ❤

  4. I swear I know that building.. See the corner right triangle with the other building in the reflection…. I believe it’s on First street or Beale…

  5. Looking good! Im more of a landscape girl too!

  6. OMG. you know already, how much i LOVE this ❤

  7. Yes, very nicely done…Love the perspective in this eye catching BW image.

  8. The cityscape you have presented is more a work of art than something done on the ‘run’…. but you know I am a sucker for B&W.

  9. The angle, the reflections, the height, the geometry, ….. wow, Laura. You packed a LOT into this one image. I too would like to get into the city to photograph, but I need hubby for that. It’s not safe for me to go alone. 😦 How lucky you are to have a camera club. Please know that! This is another Dream of mine. I was hoping hubby would be my photo buddy with his new camera, but that isn’t working out too well. I really look forward in seeing what else you shot. 🙂 Love, Amy ❤

    • Thank you so much for your comment Amy. Don’t worry, my hubby doesn’t like to take pictures with me. He used to back in the days of film. The camera club is really fun. I use meetup for it and it works out really great! I have a few more, nothing spectacular but I considered it a learning experience. 😀 And a fun one!

      • Keeping all fingers crossed you get you grin back, Laura. I have a funny story …. Last evening, I decided to shoot in a park. This park has a frisbee course and yes anyone can walk on this cours. It is spread out all over the park. I had a bright orange shirt on so that everyone would see me. As I am setting up my tripod and camera just getting ready to shoot, a frisbee comes hurtling right by me, landing in the creek. I turn around and there standing glaring at me as if it were my fault his frisbee is now in the creek, is this young boy kid. I took one look at his insolent face and spurted out, “I didn’t wear a BRIGHT orange shirt for nothing you know. You were supposed to SEE me.” He just continued to mumble and glare at me. REALLY? Then in another spot I am clicking away happy as a clam in a shell. I go to pick up my tripod and that is when I realize I am surround by dog poop. OMG! My left foot was standing in a pile of poop and thank goodness my tripod’s legs were clean. REALLY? Third time is the charm. Again I am approaching a spot I want to shoot this time very carefully scanning the ground before I walked it. And there to my amazement, right where I wanted to shoot, is a huge pile of rabbit poop. OH COME ON!! Seriously?????? At that point I gave up, threw my hands up in the air, and say, “I quit for today!” So to wrap it up, poop followed me yesterday on a poop day. Insert sh*t where all the poop words are. Only me. It really wasn’t funny then, but NOW I am really laughing. Yes, only me can things like this happen to! LOL ❤

  10. I agree: it’s good to stretch ourselves.

Leave a Reply

