Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Skyline is Golden

48 Comments

For the last month or so I’ve been wanting to take a shot of the San Francisco skyline and I got my opportunity the other night when I was taking photos of the Bay Bridge.  Once the blue hour had just about ended, I zoomed in on the buildings to avoid the bridge on the left and managed to capture this using a 6 second exposure.  The fog was rolling in which created a nice contrast between it and the lights emanating from the tops of the buildings.

Ahhh….it’s like a jewel box all golden.  🙂

Should you wish to purchase, please click here:  Skyline is Golden

Skyline is Golden

Skyline is Golden

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

48 thoughts on “Skyline is Golden

  1. There is no city prettier but I’m biased… Sue me..

  2. a breathtaking night shot! Love the golden glow!

  3. Very nice image. Love the warmth

  4. Amazing…..looks decorated with golden colors

  5. The enlarged size of this photo looks even more amazing!

  6. Such an amazing city! Beautiful shot!!! When I lived in Mill Valley, and worked on strawberry point, I saw the San Fransisco skyline every day walking to my job!!! What an incredible place to live and to spend the first year and half of our married life!!! We loved the area!!!!

    • Thanks Charley! I love how excited you get when you talk about the Bay Area!

      • Laura, we were blessed to live in such an incredibly beautiful place for that time in our lives. I went through withdrawals after we left there missing the natural beauty of the place. It was such an amazing merging of cities, small towns, and natural beauty! I never felt like I was living in the midst of millions of people!!! I don’t have words to describe the place. there is no place like it! I have longed for such beauty for years and never dreamed that we’d ever live in such a place again. Now we find ourselves in Cordova, Alaska; while Alaska and Cordova are missing the millions of people the natural beauty is astounding here as well. …I have to pinch myself almost daily to see if it is real. Our time in the bay area is the only thing I have to compare it to! …don’t know if that makes any sense…..

        • Oh I loved Alaska when we were there! It is so majestic and I’ve never felt Mother Nature like I did there. I do feel blessed to live here. Thank god I’m a native otherwise how do people come from elsewhere to live here. It is so expensive!

  7. You surely did well with a single night of shooting, Laura. Great work.

  8. Simply stunning, Laura!

  9. This is really an amazing photo Laura 😀

  10. Love this night cityscape, Laura. Terrific job!

  11. splendid, Laura… ❤ btw, I'll be in SF for the 3rd time before the end of this year… can't wait! 🙂
    * * *
    my very best, have a pleasant week-end and tons of inspiration! cheers, Mélanie

  12. A wonderful night photo Laura.

  13. You beautifully captured our City Laura.

  14. I love the fog, at least when it comes to photography. It’s just perfect in this photo, what a great exposure.

  15. An excellent skyline shot. Besides, you gotta have the fog. 🙂

  16. That is a great photo Laura. I love great skyline photos. For me they make the imagination run as to what wonderful things could be going on in the busyness of it all.

  17. Laura, this is lovely! I don’t know how I missed it! love the hint of the fog, creeping and edging from the background – wonderful 🙂 cheers, Debi

Leave a Reply

