Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

One Photo Focus – September

71 Comments

One Photo Focus is here!  Every month Stacy gives us a photo and we edit it to come up with our own take.  Below you’ll find my image as well as the original three bracketed images provided by Benjamin Rowe, so thanks Ben for three images for us to work on this month.  🙂    If you have time, check out Stacy’s blog to see everyone’s submissions.  I’m excited to see what everyone came up with!

Seeing this castle immediately made me imagine Scotland or Ireland and the quintessential green grass.  You know how I love color, so here’s my submission for this month!

Basic Process:

1.  Merged the three original bracketed images in Photomatix Pro to create an HDR image and then opened in Photoshop.

2.  Added a curve to the sky.

3.  Selected the grass and used a channel mixer layer to get the vibrant green.

4.  Used a soft light cloud brush to even out the sky in some areas.

5.  Enhanced the image in Nik Color Efex adding some detail and brilliance.

6.  Reduced noise in sky and brushed some red into the sky.

7.  Added a blur layer and exposed the center by using a radial gradient mask.

8.   Selected the castle and added a Levels layer to accentuate the detail.

9.  Selected the flag and added a red overlay.

10.  Used some gradients to make the eye go toward the castle.

One Photo Focus - September

One Photo Focus – September

Thank you Stacy for coordinating this fun challenge!  🙂

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

71 thoughts on “One Photo Focus – September

  1. Beautiful image Laura. You are so clever 🙂

  2. Thank you for sharing editing details. There are things there I forgot about and others I can now try.

  3. Laura that looks great, completely changed the mood of the whole scene and very imaginative 🙂

  4. Very cool interpretation. Total transformation of the mood. Well done and thanks for the details on the process.

  5. What passion!! This is incredible, Laura…you are so gifted!! Have a super weekend! ❤

  6. I love that! Very cool editing.

  7. Nice idea! and it is working I see. 🙂

  8. Wonderful edit Laura! it really leads the eye through the dark moody scene towards the castle. Nice work! 🙂

  9. WOW!!! Laura! LAURA!!! This is a masterpiece! You have gotten SO good in the editing room. I am amazed, in awe, in wonder!!! WOW!!!! ❤

  10. Blow me away… Laura!!! I agree with AmyRose, it’s a masterpiece! 🙂

  11. Wow, you are a master at photo manipulation; you created a very different image and mood from the original. Great work!

  12. Wow Laura, I love your work here 😀

  13. Wow, Laura. Just wow! I love the colors you’ve added and made a part of the overall image. Sort of a happy foreboding here. Contradictory, I know. But I feel like there is so much going on here that I am having a ball just sitting and staring!

  14. You are a master at post processing. I really need to spend some time learning more about that part of the overall process. You always get such great results from the extra work you put in.

    • You’re so generous with your comments Mark thank you. While I don’t think I’m anywhere close to being a master, I’ve definitely learned a lot in the past year. I absolutely adore it and I hope to always learn and grow. Thanks again!!

  15. Fantastic edit of Ben’s photo Laura. The castle really pops now! The colors are wonderful – they feel almost like textures!

  16. Love your creativity in post processing! Fantastic image, Laura. I’ve started doing more of it and learning…but it’s slow going 😳

  17. Stunning…excellent work, Laura. Liked. ❤

  18. Nicely done Laura and I really like your colourful inspirations!

  19. I really like the green, it is smack you in the face green. The gradient and vignette adds a nice romantic feel as well as mystery. This could easily be the setting of a daphne du maurier novel.

  20. I like what you have done Laura and the mood you have created.

  21. Your mark: 15/10
    Great Work! The results are phenomenal to me!

  22. definitely a dark fairy tale feel!!!

  23. You are sooo creative! Great job :-))

  24. Lord, I love how your mind works and always remain in awe that you can translate that through your mad editing skills! Love the color and the vignetting. Ben is right about being suggestive of a Daphne du Maurier novel 🙂

  25. Oh, the talent!! Well done! Great Result – takes me right back to historical romance novels by author Johanna Lindsey!

    ML
    x

Leave a Reply

