Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Carquinez Bridge Sunset

58 Comments

A couple nights ago I went to Benicia, California to take some sunset shots.  This is a shot of the Carquinez Bridge which is one of eight bridges in the San Francisco Bay Area.  I’ve included a map of the eight bridges and highlighted the Carquinez with a red rectangle.

I wanted to use my tripod to make a long exposure of the water, but I was too lazy to go back to the car and get it.  Not to mention I had technical difficulties and a lot of the shots were unusable from my SD card.  Not my finest image here, but I thought I’d post it because the sky was just amazing!

Carquinez Bridge

Carquinez Bridge

Bay Area Bridges

Bay Area Bridges

Should you wish to purchase this image, please click here.

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

58 thoughts on “Carquinez Bridge Sunset

  1. I love the sky xx beautiful xx

  2. beautiful and so peaceful

  3. Thats a lot of bridges – I take my tripod everywhere, its just easier that way, GREAT SKY!

  4. wow, Laura, fantastic photo! You did a great job of capturing the sunset with the bridge. 🙂

  5. Gorgeous sunset, thank you for being there. 🙂

  6. tripods can be an encumbrance

  7. I for some reason find the Richmond San Rafael Bridge ugly but you say it flows! You are the artist!

  8. Beautiful shot, Laura. Love the orange sky. Like it’s on fire. What a stunning sunset. Right place, right time. Good timing 🙂

  9. Very nice. Sweet sunset.

  10. the proportions are so perfect and the glow is icing on the cake

  11. Stunning shot Laura! Also – loving what you have been up to on your instagram account.

    ML
    x

    • Thank you about this one. Not my finest but hey, not all can be Ansel Adams right? haha And thanks about Instagram. I do those when I’m line at Costco or waiting for the doctor, etc. 🙂

  12. Stunning capture! I love how your photo led our eyes from the water to the bridge, mountains, and the orange sky! 🙂
    Thank you for including the map.

  13. The light is truly amazing and I love how it silhouettes the bridge…It is a wonderful image despite your feelings.

  14. Another jaw dropper, Laura!! Beautiful capture! Love the red in the sky and the whispy clouds against the siloutte of the bridge. Perfect framing, my friend! And yes I did get a sunset, not like I had wanted but still I did get it. I have yet to upload those images from my camera to Bridge. *red cheeked* You caught me procrastinating. LOL Again, truly amazing with this image … the light is pure magic!!! Love, Amy ❤

  15. Oops …. I just saw Charlie’s response and he spelled silhoutte right. Tee hee …. my spell checker is not working and I just proved I didn’t steal Charlie’s word. LOL ❤

  16. Laura, I’m really really looking at this image. Did you take color out just to highlight the red sky? It almost looks like a black and white image except for the sky. Incredible contrast! ❤
    ….. I'm giving myself away here … LOL … Me tired. Brain is fractured. I quit. Nighty nite! LOL ❤

  17. Beautiful, Laura…your work is always so excellent.

  18. Stunning sky – just glorious!

Leave a Reply

