Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

One Photo Focus – October

56 Comments

One Photo Focus is here!  I’ve really got to thank Stacy for keeping this challenge.  It’s so fun to see everyone’s interpretation of the same image and it’s a great challenge to do something different than my usual.  Below you’ll find my image as well as the original image provided by Michelle Lunato, so thanks much to Michelle for a fun image.   Please do check out Stacy’s blog when you have time to see everyone’s submissions.  I’m excited to see what everyone came up with!

I’m always trying to push myself in different ways, so this month I went for the painted look.  I’ve used the mixer brush tool in photoshop before to blend things but this time I had fun experimenting with it a bit further regarding brush strokes.  I usually use Topaz Impression for a brush stroke look but I was unsatisfied with the way it handled the bright starburst, even at a reduced opacity, so I decided to try to blend it myself.

After viewing that Turner exhibition recently, I realized how amazing his paintings were to include muted areas, detail, depth and light all rolled into one.  Not to mention a whole other host of techniques I couldn’t even begin to address being that I’m not knowledgable about painting.  It was fun pushing myself!

Basic Process:

  • Created layers containing accentuated boat detail
  • Created 2 motion blur layers of entire image
  • Combined final blur image with detail boat layers
  • Made squiggle of light beneath bottom of boat
  • Enhanced color via Nik Color Efex
  • Painted image with mixer brush tool in photoshop.
At Rest

At Rest

  1. Michelle Lunato OPF

    Michelle Lunato

Thank you Stacy for coordinating this fun challenge!  🙂

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

56 thoughts on “One Photo Focus – October

  1. Marvellous, Laura. Don’t tell anyone but yours is again my favourite!

  2. Incredible beautiful, Laura.
    Greetings,
    Ulli

  3. This is quite breathtaking! I like it so much I kind of want to hang this on my wall! I can’t get over how wonderful it looks. Thank you so much for working on my photo and coming up with such an artistic version of it. I am blushing at the honor you have given me:) Thank you so much for such an elegant edit. It is perfect!

    • Well hello there! I’m so glad you like what I did with it. I was hoping you didn’t mind me changing it so dramatically. Thank you for such a wonderful image to work on (and for the compliments). 🙂

  4. Wow! Your turned it into a beautiful impressionism painting, amazing! Love this one!

    • Whew, I’m glad you like it! Sometimes I can’t see the forest through the trees anymore after working on these y’know? Anyway, good morning and thanks again. 🙂

  5. Beautiful! I’d love more detailed instructions on your effects. The end result is stunning.

  6. An excellent treatment of the original image, very creative in how you transformed it.

    • Thank you Robin! I’m looking forward to everyone else’s. Contractor is almost here for some final touches to our house so I have to meet them. I’ll check them out in a bit.

  7. This is stunning! I just love it!

  8. I LOVE this Laura! Very Turner-esque! I know you shouldn’t have favourites, but this would be mine! 🙂

  9. Is the second photo taken in Marin?

  10. Beautiful mesmerising effect Laura !

  11. Love the dreamy impressionist style.

  12. the first one is so dreamy.

  13. As usual, very creative edits, Laura. Love the completely different outcome: a beautiful painting!

  14. Wonderful creation, Laura. So dreamy. I like it very much.

  15. When I saw your image over at Stacey’s, my first thought was: This looks like one of Turner’s paintings! I see now that he actually was your inspiration, how lovely. I must confess, my favorite by far and I too would hang this on my wall. 👍🎶

  16. Thank you very much for showing part of your photographic secrets, I like this kind of results . A greeting

  17. Una Serie Preciosa, Ha Sido Todo Un Placer Descubrir Tu Blog, Un Saludo…

  18. This is great Laura, A total transformation and reminds me of many pictures I have seen in galleries in coastal areas and harbours. Really great.

  19. what a dreamlike impression!!

  20. Beautiful photo – the processing is just perfect, and thanks for the look-inside your mind with the processing. Very cool 🙂

  21. I want your post-processing skills!! Love, love, love it, Laura!!!!

  22. Flip… that’s a great creation!! I’d love to paint something like that… some day!! 😉

Leave a Reply

