Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Crystal Ball Sunset

69 Comments

Yesterday evening was a beautiful sunset, so I thought I’d try a shot through the crystal ball.  I really like how this came out because the colors are so pretty.  And you know me and my color.  🙂   After trying several lenses, like four of them haha, it seems the macro lens worked best.  Other lenses were ok but there is just something about the macro……..

Crystal Ball Sunset

Crystal Ball Sunset

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

69 thoughts on “Crystal Ball Sunset

  1. Nice very nice. I like!!!

  2. Beautiful, so creative! ❤👍

  3. I’ve never seen anything like it. Wow, wonderful.

    • Thank you so much. Kind of fun to figure out how and what to shoot.

    • Sabiscuit, it is really the same type of thing that we try to achieve when we do reflections in the water (for instance a lake, river or even a stream). I saw a post on G+ called “Sydney in a Wine Glass” where the person had some water and photographed the Sydney Opera House. It got me thinking about the idea of a crystal ball myself. It is fun to play with. Like Laura said, you will have a “ball” learning and then it gets easy to overuse it.

      • I agree George that it could be easy to overuse it. I think the challenge is to come up with something new each time. Don’t know how long I’ll keep trying but for $16 on amazon, kind of hard to beat! And yes, I’ve never met a pun I didn’t like. 😛

      • Thank you for explaining that. It is interesting. I enjoy drawing inspiration from other artists and trying something in my own way. The way you did this seems so natural, almost as if it waited for you to capture it.

  4. An incredible picture. I think the crystal ball would be best served as an object in your photography than using it to possibly for tell the future.

  5. how big is your ball Laura, I have been looking online and was not quite sure what size to get? Most seem to be 40mm – 110mm

  6. That’s very cool Laura – beautiful result.

  7. Sunset in a crystal ball, I’m speechless… Wow!!!

  8. I like too! Gorgeous!

  9. Ha ha..”there is something about the macro…”
    Cool picture, really like it! and i like your sense of humor 🙂

  10. This one of the most amazing and creative picture I have ever seen!Cool!

  11. I see you going lots of places with this Laura 🙂 strange to think that this is how we see the world with our eyes before the brain inverts it right-way-up – and gives it a name

    • Me too Laura. Another blogging friend said she takes hers a lot of places but got stopped in the airport because of it haha. I’m glad I got one of these. It was only $16 on amazon!

  12. Stunning and very stylish.

  13. That is cool! The Dodgers lost thank goodness.

  14. Nicely done PB. Love the DOF. Bravo!

  15. Wonderful image! And Great Thinking… Thumbs Up Laura.

  16. Well, THAT’S cool, Laura 🙂

  17. on a clear day you can see forever into the crystal ball!!

  18. Nice work Laura

  19. MAGIC with macro!!! Gorgeous, Laura!!!! ❤

  20. Laura, you make magic with macros. Great shot. I still bring my old camera with the new one when I shoot pictures because I like the macros it takes. Yes, there’s something about macros—agree totally.
    Blessings ~ Wendy

Leave a Reply

