Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

One Photo Focus – November

69 Comments

It’s that time again…my favorite challenge, One Photo Focus, is upon us!   The challenge consists of everyone editing the same photo taken by one person.  Below you’ll find my image as well as the original image provided by Helen Chen, so thanks much to Helen for this challenging image.   Please do check out Stacy’s blog when you have time to see everyone’s submissions.  It’s always fun to see everyone’s edits!

With the vines and roots crawling all over this amazing little shack, I imagined myself wandering into a forest and coming upon this little gem with beams of light coming through the thick trees.   It’s amazing to even think this exists somewhere because it’s so unusual.  I would’ve loved to have seen it in person and to know its history.

I hope you enjoy the edit, and thanks again to Helen for the fun image!

Basic Process:

  • Found a royalty free forest image on the internet.
  • Sampled the colors from the forest image and applied those tones to the shack.
  • Blended the shack into the forest image.
  • Applied Topaz Glow at a reduced opacity for parts of the image.
  • Applied Topaz Restyle at a reduced opacity.
  • Sharpened different areas of the photo to create more depth.
  • Added a subtle beam of light from left top corner to middle of shack.
  • Added a subtle vignette.
Jungle Shack

Jungle Shack by Laura Macky

Original by Helen Chen

Original by Helen Chen


Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

69 thoughts on “One Photo Focus – November

  1. Interesting transition. You made it look almost useful 🙂

  2. Love that. Looks like a painting.

  3. It looks almost welcoming with your changes. Quite amazing!

  4. Reminds me of L O S T ………. 🙂

  5. You my friend are an artist… for a second without reading the words, I thought, “Man that is part of the cemetery I never been to.”

  6. That was fantastic work right there.

  7. AMAZING! I bow to your editing powers!

  8. oh yes, amazing edit and a very intriguing little shack!

  9. Amazing transformation, Laura!

  10. You’ve made it so appealing now – wonderful transformation! 🙂

  11. NOW the image works….when I first saw it, I thought it was pretty boring, but your creative work has made the shot interesting

  12. Really love this Laura xx love how the light shines down

  13. Wow! What a transformation. I love it, Laura.

  14. I love that you wrapped this ‘tree-house’ up in more forestry… at first when I saw it on Stacy’s post I thought it was your rendition of the continuation of nature taking over the warehouse in the future. Your edit is amazing and beautiful! 😀 Btw, I think you have the wrong link for Helen’s blog… her blog is HHC Blog (http://helenchen.ws/).

  15. Dear heavens! Outstanding editing, Laura! I hope to get as good as you someday. Your transformation is mesmerizing. I kept looking at the original then at yours. You created depth that is not in the original photo. I’m blown away with this! ❤

  16. Great transformation, Laura. I love the addition of the greenery around the door and the beam of light. The tones are warm and the image is much more appealing!

    • Thank you so much! I’m glad you got a warm feeling from it. I really tried to convey that coziness. As a side note, so strange…I swore I responded to this earlier but then the comment isn’t here. This is happening to me more and more on WP. 😦

  17. Laura, thanks for spelling out your steps in such wonderful detail. I wondered how you managed to get the forest look. I never thought of incorporating another image. I just love your final image! Brilliant 🙂

  18. I am always awed by how you transform these pictures! I liked how you put a forest around it and made it look so seamless, like it had been there in the original photo. I definitely think it helps the picture tremendously.

    • I appreciate you liking what I’ve done with the image, thank you. I usually get a first impression or a feeling and then try to make the picture convey it somehow.

      • That’s always the most fun – trying to get it to match our vision. And then of course, adjusting the vision because it didn’t turn out the way we thought it should! Like I went for creepy, but ended up with the charcoal which I really liked.

  19. Great edit Laura, love, love, love this………..the addition of all the greenery really softens it

  20. great edit..the addition of the spotlight!!! Amazing composite with all the other greenery

  21. This is so cool!

  22. Really well done Laura. You completely changed the mood of the image. Great use of the plugins.

  23. That is such a beautiful transition ~ well done.

  24. Wow! You are a magician, that final image is amazing!!!

  25. Pingback: One Photo Focus – November | The World in Twilight

  26. I agree with Janelle. You’re a true magician and even though you tell us how your “illusions” we still fail when we try to duplicate them. I love your work, Laura.

  27. Amazing, Laura. I can’t take my eyes off it. I also enjoy reading your words and appreciate the details you’d told us on how you made changes. You have transformed the shack to a place I would like to live… a magic place!!! Thanks for the lesson, teacher.

Leave a Reply

