Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Noticing the World Around You

38 Comments

I couldn’t believe my good fortune with the weather in the Marin Headlands a few mornings ago.  After the sun presented it’s beautiful colors over the Golden Gate Bridge, I decided to wander from the bay around the corner to the coast to see what I could get.  All I could say was O-M-G!  It was hardly cold at all and NO FOG.  Plus the wind wasn’t bad which is amazing for this spot.  Usually the Marin Headlands are quite windy.

As I walked around the trail there, I found a really neat spot with a path leading down to a secluded beach with a rock in the distance.  I’m not sure if one could actually get down there from this spot as there was no way I was going to venture out there by myself; but I did think it made for a great composition because of the path leading our eye up and across the frame toward the rock.  Plus the light was really nice as it was just coming up over the large hill behind me.

I’ve learned that when I go out for a specific shot, like I did this morning for the Golden Gate Bridge, to always look around for other possibilities for photos.  Someone once told me to physically turn around 360 degrees to see what else you can get and that’s exactly what I do every time.  I don’t want to miss anything!  🙂

I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

Wandering

Wandering

Should you wish to purchase this image, please click here.

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

38 thoughts on “Noticing the World Around You

  1. Wonderful shot and lovely words.

  2. You have captured on film one of my favorite places. Actually, I have a view of the headlands from my house in Golden Gate Heights, and I recently bought a panoramic photograph that spans the wall above my sofa in my tv room. I had gone to an exhibit of some wonderful panoramic photos that a fellow took with a special camera, and I had no intention of buying anything. All of his photos were excellent, many of far away places,, but I was drawn to a particular one. I did not know why I had to have it, because I usually do not buy photos for the wall. Then I looked at my view and I realized it was very similar. I can never get tired of it. I definitely want one of your images. I will go to your website and decide which one.

    • Oh you are so lucky that you have that view! It’s funny because I don’t have any of my photos on my walls. I’m trying to change that. I’d love to see your panoramic photograph. Perhaps you could take a picture of it and email it to me? ? No rush but I would love to see it. info@lauramacky.com is my email. 🙂 Thank you for checking out my website. If you have any questions, just let me know. Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. gorgeous. this is one of your best i’ve seen

  4. Yes, it is good to remember to turn around.

  5. You were indeed blessed to be able to find such a wonderful location. Of all the years Ive lived here, I’ve never made it there… Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.

    • I do feel blessed. The stars were lined up for me that morning. It’s worth making a trip down but I would suggest a weekday and in the morning when you know there won’t be fog. It’s stunning! Thank you Juan. Happy Thanksgiving to you as well. 🙂

  6. Laura, the 360 degree turn is great advice. I know I find things when I think outside the box, but I never thought of turning myself around too. Love it. You did well.
    Thanksgiving Blessings ~ Wendy

    • Thank you so much Wendy. It was the best piece of advice I’ve ever received. He also said that a lot of times the shot you think you’re going to get isn’t the one that ends up being the one you’re meant to get. How funny and how true that is. Sometimes the simplest things in life are the best eh? Thank you again and have a wonderful Thanksgiving. ❤

  7. Your photo and words are inspirational!

  8. gorgeous Laura, 360 yes and don’t forget look up and down as well! 🙂

  9. Wonderful post. Stunning photograph.

  10. happy Thanksgiving Laura & Dave.

  11. wow! just wow! I wish I could just sit there all day long.

  12. This one is stunning beautiful Laura 😀

  13. I love your advice about turning 360 degrees. I will need to try that from now on! This photograph made me want to follow the path to see where it leads…

  14. Wonderful landscape. And your photo is great.

  15. OH MY!!!! I love this one! When we lived in Mil Valley our favorite, free date night was to drive through the tunnel, turn right and then drive through the headlands!!! When we have gone to the great beyond it is our desire that our ashes be sprinkled out over the headlands!

Leave a Reply

