Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Expressing Passion

76 Comments

It’s not about the perfect photo.  For me it’s about expressing myself.  Maybe it’s because I was a musician most of my life and was used to expressing myself through the arts.  Or maybe it’s because I can’t convey my emotions very well through the spoken or written word.

What drives me in photography is my desire to share an intense feeling of beauty with someone else so they can feel what I felt.  Maybe it’s a bit like asking you to know me and to accept me.

Creating imagery for me is like taking all my emotions of the moment and putting them onto the head of a pin….I want to leave no doubt as to how the magic of nature left it’s impression.

Connected

Connected

Should you wish to purchase this image, please click here.

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

76 thoughts on “Expressing Passion

  1. Oh, Laura!! This is stunning!!! It took my breath away! Really! I know what you mean about emotion … I do the very same thing. That is why art to me is so precious in any form. I’m so glad you posted this and your thoughts behind it. I didn’t know you are a musician. We have something in common. The emotion I feel in music I feel in my photography, just expressed differently. How cool is that? Nice!! ❤

    • I had a feeling you might connect with this. :-). I used to play piano and did since I was 4 until a few years ago. I don’t do it anymore because of a physical issue I have with nerve damage in my hand. It’s actually why I took up photography.

      • My Dad played piano and I have the music in my blood. I create to music either actual or I “feel” it when shooting. How you must miss playing! I am really happy though for you that you found a replacement for the piano, the camera. I Love the way we both express ourselves through this medium. The possibilities are endless …. just as in music. 🙂

        • How amazing we have this in common!! I don’t really miss it anymore. It was getting stale anyway and I wasn’t doing anything new. Photography has been such a boost! Thanks Amy. ❤️

  2. Your passion was great in this one. Beautifully done.

  3. a agree….on all counts.

  4. I too am a musician (keyboard and vocalist!) as well as photographer, but find the intensity of emotion that can come through in a song or piece of music can also happen in a photograph. You’ve captured something quite special here, Laura. Well done.

  5. This is a really lovely mirrored cloudscape. Great time of day to capture it too.

  6. Stunning Photograph Laura Id say you expressed your passion very well

  7. Awe man, this is exactly how I feel! I felt like you were reading my thoughts. There’s 17 string instruments, piano, drums and a flute that’s plays throughout our home. (I’m a bassist) So sweet.

  8. You said it well. I feel the same way.

  9. Beautifully put. Stunning!

  10. This is so beautiful, I just can’t stop looking at it.

  11. Stunning colors Laura. Just beautiful 😊

  12. Beautifully expressed, Laura, in both words and imagery.

  13. Love the photo! Absolutely beautiful and breath taking.

  14. A wonderful shot. And if I were you I’d reconsider the not-conveying-emotions-in-the-written-word-thing, because you did 😉 Couldn’t have said it any better and I am so with you on that…

  15. Look at your incredible fortune! What a beautiful sentiment about what photography and processing mean to you. Thank you for sharing your vision and finding moments like this!

  16. This is a beautiful shot! Art is wonderful and your passion shows through each photograph.

  17. Passion is always good

  18. Incredible image nicely captured!

  19. Are you frickin serious? This is absolutely beautiful, Laura!!! Awesome reflection and colors. Well done buddy 🙂

  20. A very special photo indeed Laura . Full of emotion .

  21. Stunning, absolutely stunning!

  22. Well you definitely conveyed the beauty and emotion perfectly in this photo! Absolutely stunning.

  23. Beautiful. Magic. Beathtaking. Incredible. Stunning. All words are mentioned above. And all are true!

  24. Gorgeous! Thanks for sharing your passion

Leave a Reply

