Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

The Greenhouse Effect

65 Comments

The other day I took my camera club to the San Francisco Conservatory of Flowers.  (You can read about it here.)  It was an amazing place!  I had no idea the entire thing was a greenhouse which is so funny because even after living in SF only a few blocks away, you’d think I would’ve known that.  Ssshhh don’t tell anyone!  It was a very cold day in the city and I was bundled up as if I were going to the arctic.  Needless to say I had to shed some of my outwear before going into the greenhouse.  Whew it was hot in there!

There were several rooms at different temperatures and humidities and each time we went into a different room, our lenses had to acclimate.  Wouldn’t it be great if lenses had little windshield wipers?  LOL.  Actually, I meant to use my macro but unfortunately it wasn’t in my camera bag, so I used the 28-300mm lens instead.

Here’s a gallery of the images.

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

65 thoughts on “The Greenhouse Effect

  1. Beautiful. What a wonderful place to visit.

  2. Lovely work! Did you haul a tripod in with you? Perfectly smooth…

  3. I know how hot those greenhouses get, Laura! These images are outstanding! I must return here to look again at these after my walk. I’m so happy for you that you again have your camera and are out taking pics. Good for you!!! I’ll be back ….. MUAH!!!! ❤

  4. Beautiful. ..We went there…it is so beautiful and I just loved the slow mooch through the Golden Gate park down to the Pan Handle

  5. Absolutely stunning images…I find that if admit there are things I don’t know yet, I open myself up to mistakes and embarrassments, I really enjoy each day so much more; I learn so much when there are no stupid questions.

  6. Amazing shots-I feel like I was in there.

  7. Very beautiful photos Laura 😀

  8. Great shots – as always. 🙂 I particularly like the first b/w one.
    As to the Greenhouse effect, it is like that every day here in Cape Town at the moment, since it is mid-summer. I love hearing about the other side of the world. 🙂

  9. I went to school in the city and have been to Golden Gate Park several times- including as recently as 2013 when I went back for a visit. And I’ve never been inside the Greenhouse. Thanks for finally taking me inside.

  10. Great series of images, Laura. I visited the Conservatory on a trip to SF a couple years ago and agree that it is a fabulous place. But I did not come away with images like these. Really well done.

  11. Greenhouses are a great place to hang out in during the winter. We have one attached to our house. Cats love it, I love it when it’s warm in there. Closest thing to year-round summer.

  12. There is a place about a hour’s drive from here named Longwood Gardens. This place is much the same as you have pictured here. I’ve been there twice so far, and even though I’m not much of a flower person, I must admit it is a very nice place to visit. For a fee of $32.00 to enter the Gardens, you will see all kinds of different flowers, trees, bushes, and shrubs that are grown with great care. During the Holiday Seasons the place is all lit up in lights of every color. The fountains located in the Garden are lit up with different color that looks so pretty to see. The Greenhouse has just about every type of flower you would want to see, and it is quite warm & humid in there. I do have some flower images taken there somewhere. Have to find them. For the Christmas Season I will be returning there to see the place all dressed up in Holiday lights. There is one bad thing, though. They do not allow tripods after a certain hour of the day. Not at all happy about that.

    • Wow your place sounds much larger and at $32 it’s a steeper fee. It was only $8 to enter the SF Conservatory. I think it would be nice to see all the lights for the holidays. 🙂 Thank you Les.

  13. These are beautiful photos Laura. Lovely subjects and artfully done.

  14. wow. what a lovely collection. pity about the lens, but I didn’t really notice.

  15. Fabulous stylish images Laura…..great work

  16. The leaf type fan is my favourite. Sensational. I love it!

  17. What a great set 😀 The building reminds me a bit of the older Kew Glasshouse in London. You know how much I love glasshouses!!

  18. Great photos. Isn’t it amazing we always look for far away places to visit and miss what is right around us. Living in Orange County I always like to travel elsewhere and ignore what is right in my backyard. I must do some local searching to see what I am missing.

  19. Beautifully captured Laura. I’m fond of conservatories. 🙂

  20. Lovely shots. I used to live a short walk from the conservatory (7th an Irving) but only went a couple of times. It has been a long time but I think it used to be free.

    • Thank you Marie. I used to live near 20th & Irving years ago. I never went back then. It’s only $8 now which isn’t too bad. Hope you make it over there on a cold day to get warm. 🙂

  21. Did you find that stinky plant that lets out the odor of death? Since I was a kid that place gave me the heebie jeebies

  22. I’ve returned just like I said I would …. My two favorites, Laura, are the second one down at the top second column (black and white) and the huge fan like image you have. NICE! I really drank the beauty up because flowers are scarce these hereabouts. Thank you for bring to my eyes the color of flowers. Great job, my friend! Love, Amy ❤

  23. How funny, I was just there too, maybe we there there on the same day. I have been there many times, but this time I have never seen so many orchids in bloom. It was amazing. I decided to join it, in order to go there wherever I want, as a place of refuge and peace. Usually, there are very few people in it.

Leave a Reply

