Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

One Photo Focus – December

47 Comments

I can’t believe it’s almost the year anniversary for the One Photo Focus challenge.  My how time flies when you’re having fun, eh?   For those of you who don’t know this challenge, it consists of everyone editing the same photo taken by one person.  Below you’ll find my image as well as the original image provided by Julie Powell.   Please do check out Stacy’s blog when you have time to see everyone’s submissions.  It’s always fun to see everyone’s edits!

It seems everyone is doing textures these days.  While it’s not something I usually do in this way, I thought I’d give it a whirl; and since I’m enjoying our cool fall weather, I went for an autumn look.  I have to say that this was the hardest image for me to edit all year (thanks for that Julie! lol), but I truly appreciate the challenge because it pushes me to try and learn new things!

Basic Process:

  • Purchased some textures for my library.
  • Opened the flower image in Photoshop and added two different textures as layers above the flower.  One texture was autumn texture and the other was a paint stroke texture.
  • Cropped and extended the image to the right.
  • Added a mask to reveal more of the flower with varying opacities of a brush.
  • Added three different leaves as three layers and applied various blending modes and opacities.
  • Added a curve to the image.
  • Added a level mask to the flower to bring out the white in the flower.
  • Applied a few filters via Nik Efex Color Pro to the entire image
  • Added some light onto the upper right corner of the image.
  • Used the liquify tool to pull the upper left portion of the flower petals up and away to add better proportion to the image.
  • Added some sharpening.
One Photo Focus - December

One Photo Focus – December Edit by Laura Macky

Original by Julie Powell

Original by Julie Powell

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

47 thoughts on “One Photo Focus – December

  1. Oh Laura, it’s beautiful i love the colours, the textures, great job

  2. Beautiful editing Laura – love the textures! 🙂

  3. You did a great job injecting autumn into the summery original, Laura~~

  4. Your edits made it work…I really have an issue with the original being dead center BTW…

  5. Laura, you turned this tulip into a piece of art. Wonderful edits.

  6. Nice repositioning and glow, Laura.

  7. Laura, my daughter and I think this looks like a vintage painting. Love it.
    Blessings ~ Wendy

  8. This is such amazing editing….I read the steps you listed and they are mostly over my head at this point! The end result is stunning.

  9. Dreamy effect Laura !

  10. Unbelievably beautiful, Laura. Some day I want to grow up to be just like you- with your talent.

  11. Very well seen. Really created something beautiful!

  12. Great job, Laura. I always look forward to your take on the Obe Photo Focus.

  13. LOVE your edit Laura!!

  14. Simply awesome! You have done such an amazing job with this one.

  15. Wow, very cool, Laura! I love the texture! 🙂

  16. I’m so very late in making the rounds for this month’s 1PF, but it’s giving me the opportunity to revisit your wonderful image! Given all that we’ve seen you can do with your images, I don’t know why this one was so difficult for you – you work wonders with your photos 🙂 But that being said, I absolutely love what you have done here. The tweaks of light and liquifying the petals is pure genius, and I love the layers that you chose. Bravo, Laura; stunning!!

    • And the funny part is I thought you already commented! lol Thank you so much Stacy. I was excited when I decided on the liquify haha. It’s the little things in life, y’know? Hope you’re doing well!

Leave a Reply

