Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Practicing with Smartphones (2 photos)

20 Comments

I love my Nikon D750 full frame camera, but the smartphone is so handy and fun.   Yes, that’s me who likes to hang out the window and take a picture!  Much like a dog sticking its head out the window with its ears flapping in the wind, except my ears aren’t that big.  🙂

What I find is that if I continually take pictures even with my phone when I’m out, I’m constantly improving how I see things.  If I waited to use my camera, I wouldn’t get as much practice at composing, so my advice would be to whip out those phones and get some practice in!  Plus, you’ll have something to do when you’re waiting in line at the grocery store or waiting for a doctor’s appointment lol.

The black & white was edited in iColorama and the color one was edited first in Leonardo and then Pixlr.  I think these three apps are my favorites.  You can check out more of my smartphone photography in my Instagram link found on the sidebar.  All photos are edited on the iPhone only.

IMG_0830

IMG_0833

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

20 thoughts on “Practicing with Smartphones (2 photos)

  1. Great work!! I got a Canadian friend turned on to iColorama, she is now addicted too. I am still trying to figure out Tangled FX, the interface is not terribly user friendly in spite of not being complex like iColorama. My new 6S photos are as good as the old Canon SX30 so the Canon stays in the bag. Someday I’ll have a nice full body camera…

  2. Smartphones are indeed very practical, I still use the camera of my phone very often too. 🙂

  3. You inspire me to experiment.

  4. I have had so much fun leaving the Nikon behind and limiting myself just to the I-Phone.

  5. Lol I too hang out the window taking photos hoping for the best. I also use my iPhone when I don’t have my cameras! The iPhone does a great job! I will check out the apps you mentioned thanks for the tip.

  6. LOVE your editing techniques, Laura, and how you framed this image. I cannot agree with you more about taking pics with our phones. I have SO many on my phone now because everywhere I go I am shooting. It does sharpen my eye and it does improve my technique on framing an image. My favorite app. as of right now is PicArt. What I can do in that program blows me away and I find myself just wanting to play play play. Have a great day today!!! Love, Amy ❤

  7. You should give a try to Snapseed, which is the best in my own opinion : https://itunes.apple.com/fr/app/snapseed/id439438619?mt=8

    With my Android 6, I can shoot RAW files and the edit those RAW. 🙂

    • I’ve tried snapseed and it’s ok but I prefer the ones I mentioned. I think it’s just a matter of preference and what you like to do. But thank you anyway! Merry Christmas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

