Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Heron in the Snow (2 images)

44 Comments

I never knew Great Blue Herons lived in Yosemite.  I’m not sure why I didn’t think so, but it was a pleasant surprise to see this guy sitting on a snowy log.  I could get so close, these weren’t even cropped.  He just sat there going about his business.  I’m not the best bird shooter that’s for sure, especially on a 15 degree morning with gloves on, but it was fun capturing this guy.  🙂

 

If you wish to purchase these images, please click here.

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

44 thoughts on “Heron in the Snow (2 images)

  1. Great work! Beautiful bird too. ❤️🌞

  2. What a catch! Gorgeous! ❤

  3. It never crossed my mind that there are herons in Yosemite; you got a couple of gorgeous shots even with the brutal temperature.

  4. Is there much tone mapping done on this image? 🙂

  5. I love heron’s! They seem to adapt to every kind of environment and climate you can think of. Lovely composition 😀

  6. Beautiful shot Laura..! : o )

  7. Beautiful bird and setting, Laura. The snow makes it magical.
    Blessings ~ Wendy

  8. If I follow what my photography instructor said, “Show the bird in habitat and don’t just make monster birds,” I like the first one best.

  9. Wonderful, I appreciate the second right

  10. That bird looks cold poor thing…

  11. You’ve scored some real shooting gold here on this trip Laura!

    • Thank you Robert! I didn’t really take that many pictures either so I was kind of excited. Dave actually pointed out the Heron. He said…turn around…and it was right there.

  12. Wonderful nature! Great pics, Laura! 🙂

  13. I only know the Great Blue Herons at Stow Lake in Golden Gate Park. A volunteer is often there with a telescope for people to watch. It is an amazing bit of nature in the big city.

  14. He looks like he is sitting guard over a vast domain, guarding a castle for the King!

Leave a Reply

