Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Still Life

40 Comments

I thought I’d pull myself out of the snow and share something totally different.  It’s been raining cats and dogs so I thought I’d go completely out of my comfort zone and try a still life.

It was early afternoon so our kitchen was nice and bright and we had some tulips out in a vase on the kitchen counter that were screaming to be photographed.  I placed them inside a white cube softbox with a black backdrop and turned on the kitchen ceiling lights.  No flash was used.

I did try to arrange the flowers so they had a more asymmetrical shape but other than that I shot them as is with my macro lens (oh how I love that lens).

Tulips

Tulips

If you wish to purchase this image, please click here.

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

40 thoughts on “Still Life

  1. Lovely composition, really beautiful.

  2. Lovely😍😍👍🏻❤️❤️

  3. Ms L…….your images always bring me such peace. I am so envious. I have been having chronic back problems & we won’t even talk of the pain. Going through a series of injections which have helped a little bit. Have two more of those to go. Kind of a pain they totally put you under so you don”t jump with the needle working right beside your spinal cord. On potent pain-killers and a heavy back brace. It all adds up to not carrying a camera around. So I breathe through others great work. Keep on feeding me……..en theos….jasL

    • Aw James….I completely sympathize with you!! I’ve had those injections and have suffered a myriad of neck, back and knee issues. I still have issues but not as bad as they were. It takes perseverance and time to get over things like this. I’m sending healing energy your way and I hope the shots help! And thank you for liking what I do. 🙂

  4. Beautifully composed and shot, Laura.

  5. So beautiful to have flowers like these tulips inside in the cold grey winter 🙂

  6. Very beautiful picture.!! Great shot..!

  7. Very nice image, I understand why you love that lens !

  8. What a gorgeous photo of my favourite flowers 🙂

Leave a Reply

