Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

One Photo Focus – February

37 Comments

For those of you who don’t know this challenge, it consists of everyone editing the same photo taken by one person.  Below you’ll find my image as well as the original image provided by Lens Addiction.   I will say this one was a real challenge for me and I almost gave up.

To see everyone’s submissions, please check out Stacy’s blog when you have time.  It’s always fun to see everyone’s edits!

Basic Process:

  • Straightened image and removed two ropes in front (just because I wanted to use the patch tool lol)
  • Isolated the sky and applied a color fill to add a yellow tone and remove the cloud contrast
  • Added a levels mask to the boat hull to bring out the detail
  • Applied Topaz Glow for a sketchy look
  • Applied Topaz Impression for some smudges here and there
  • Adjusted colors via hue/saturation mask
  • Added two textures using two layers with masks to reveal parts of the image
  • Added blur at top and bottom
  • Dodged and burned a few areas in the sky
macky-onephotofocus-feb

macky-onephotofocus-feb

Original by Stacy of Lens Addiction

Original by Stacy of Lens Addiction

 

 

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

37 thoughts on “One Photo Focus – February

  1. Beautiful! I feel like I’m about to time-travel as I gaze at the photo imagining that I’m on the ship!

  2. Well, there you are 🙂 I came over earlier, but your post hadn’t gone live yet.

    Can I just say you always amaze me with your results. I just love where your vision takes you. This one is no exception! Beautiful application of filters and layers. If I could only channel a portion of your skill set, I would be such a happy camper 🙂 Thanks so much, Laura, for always participating in 1PF!

  3. I absolutely love what you did with it. I expect to see pirates at any moment. Dead or alive. Love the original too.

  4. Fantastic editing Laura – I absolutely love what you did with this capture! 🙂

  5. Fabulously fantastic FUN creation, Laura!! I LOVE this!!!! ❤

  6. Nice painterly interpretation, Laura.

  7. I see a trend of “symmetrical” shapes in your images, looks great and statistically beautiful.

  8. Fantastic process, Laura! Isolating the sky, that sound like “mission impossible” to me. 🙂

  9. It’s wonderful what you have done to this image, great work.

  10. I love this painterly effect, Laura. Excellent work.

  11. i’m would do the same: ‘Straightened image and removed two ropes in front’.

  12. Well Im glad you stuck with it Laura cos your image looks like an old master painting and its lovely. I was surprised when Stacy picked this image of the several I offered up for selection for a challenge image. I never edited these back when I took them cos I thought they were too hard and at the time they were. So nice to see everyone come up with their own variation.

  13. Laura, you are so good at editing. I love this ship.
    Blessings & get well hugs ~ Wendy

Leave a Reply

