Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Architectural Panorama

52 Comments

Okay so it didn’t come out how I had hoped but here it is nonetheless.  I really needed to take two rows of shots and then stitch them together but I didn’t.  I took four shots all in one row but it just wasn’t enough!  I think this would all work a lot better in a much larger place where the walls and ceiling weren’t so close to me.  Even with my widest angled lens (14-24mm), I couldn’t get it all in these four shots.  Plus, the distortion was pretty great with this lens and it couldn’t be accurately fixed in photoshop because of the panorama.

I did find out that I prefer PTGUI.com to stitch the photos together over Photoshop.  A LOT more control there and so much more to learn on that program as well.

The good news is that I learned a lot from this test!  I took other pictures in this church which I will share later, but for now I’ll leave you with this….such as it is lol.

Time to get my day going!  Hope you all have a good one!

DSC_2512-Pano

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

52 thoughts on “Architectural Panorama

  1. Good Morning Laura,
    I think it looks great, regardless if it did not come out quite like you wanted it to. I think it looks like the inverted hull of a wooden ship! Call it artistic license! I think it is great! 🙂

  2. This photo is great, no need to adjust!

  3. Fab shot(s). No need to worry. Looks promising (more of that type) to me. And what an excellent idea and post job, Laura!

  4. It’s an incredible structure and you captured it…

  5. Just great picture, very nicely captured keep it up.

  6. It’s a very interesting and beautiful photograph. I’m sorry it didn’t come out as you had hoped, but I do like it.

  7. Great photo. Great to hear your experience with the software etc..

  8. I like the result…but I understand how you may have had other ideas for the final result.

  9. Like many others, I really like the effect that you produced with the 14mm. The compositional effect draws the viewer intio the image in a powerful way.

  10. Laura, I love it! The symmetry is spectacular.

  11. Well I’m definitely going to check out PTGUI! Honestly though, I love this!! Including the distortion 🙂 I actually feel drawn right inside the building.

  12. Wow. Truly gorgeous. Must have been tough stitching these together! I never have any luck doing panoramas with wide angles, much less a scene with so many horizontal lines.

  13. One other thing about PTGui that you should be aware of is that after using it for a number of years I have noticed that the resultant images are sharper than the same panoramas created using Photoshop (obviously straight after stitching, before any output sharpening is applied. I use both still, as Ps is quite convenient, but PTGui gives you a great deal more control and does not seem to soften the overall pixels in the warping process as much. I produce a lot of big pano’s and it is still my ‘go to’ program… Anyway, great image Laura!

Leave a Reply

