Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Surf’s Up!

43 Comments

Once again I think I saved a photo from its death.  I had a few left from Rodeo Beach a few weeks ago when the surf was high, so I thought I’d create a painting-like image out of it.    My favorite filter is topaz impression.  I think I was more heavy handed with it on this image than I have been in the past but I kind of like the effect.  I’ve included the before at the bottom just so you can see the difference.  Gotta run…have a great day everyone!

Surf's Up!

Surf’s Up!

Original

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

43 thoughts on “Surf’s Up!

  1. Absolutely stunning. 😀

  2. WOW!! ❤️👍🏻😍

  3. I think you saved it, too. Nicely done!

  4. Looks like a gorgeous painting!

  5. Some times you got to go for it…

  6. It turned out wonderful Laura. I’ve done this a few times lately too. The image is an “OK” photo, but when you apply painterly effects it gets transformed. I hate discarding photos because I know I saw ‘something’ when I composed it, but that ‘something’ does not always translate as expected. I’m really enjoying your photos and thoughts.

    • I could e written those words about seeing “something”. It’s so true! Although there are the ones I say to myself “what was I thinking” lol. Thanks so much for your comment and I’m so glad you enjoy my blog. :)). Have a good rest of the day!

  7. Very impressive difference. Nicely done!

  8. Laura this is gorgeous-the energy and light make for a captivating image-I love Topaz products-

  9. You did a great job with the retouch. I don’t think working the original would do it justice as this has done. I must find a photo to try doing this.

  10. Beautiful!! I have a very vivid imagination, so when I looked at it, the rocks looked like a walrus basking in the light. It’s fascinating!!

  11. I love your artist rendering, Laura! Impression is one of my favorites too, very creative, and you have used it here with great skill 🙂

  12. Topaz does have some amazing products. Way too many, if you ask me. I always have a problem deciding what to use, when to stop. This is a great transformation but did you paint the golden highlights in separately? Or were they part of the preset?

  13. You are kicking arse with these images, Laura. Well done.

  14. Those waves are beautiful.
    Great photo.

Leave a Reply

