Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Don Edwards Wildlife Refuge

43 Comments

The other day I took my camera club to Don Edwards Wildlife Refuge.  I’d never been there and I was pleasantly surprised at how beautiful it is!  We didn’t see a huge amount of birds but it could be the time of year or time of day we were there.  It didn’t stop us though…all 20 of us!  Below is a gallery of a few images I took there with my Sony A7.  This camera is so easy to carry around.  I love it!

Background of Don Edwards Wildlife Refuge

This refuge was founded in 1974 as the first urban National Wildlife Refuge established in the United States, and it is dedicated to preserving and enhancing wildlife habitat, protecting migratory birds, protecting threatened and endangered species, and providing opportunities for wildlife-oriented recreation and nature study for the surrounding communities.  The wildlife refuge, originally named San Francisco Bay National Wildlife Refuge, exists thanks to the efforts of local citizens and members of Congress, especially Congressman Don Edwards, who the park was re-named after in 1995.

As of 2004, the Refuge spanned 30,000 acres (120 km2) of open bay, salt pond, salt marsh, mudflat, upland and vernal pool habitats located throughout south San Francisco Bay. About 9,000 acres (36 km2) of salt ponds within the refuge are managed by Cargill Salt, which has perpetual salt-making rights. Cargill uses the salt ponds to concentrate brines as part of its solar salt operation which produces salt for food, agriculture, medical, and industrial uses throughout the Western United States.

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

43 thoughts on “Don Edwards Wildlife Refuge

  1. Excellent, Laura1 🙂

  2. Love all the foreground in that last photo – and I left a note on the image of the open window looking out to that blue sky and water – pulls one right in!
    Cool place and maybe next time the 20’of y’all can catch the birds – 😉

  3. Is that off of 92 or farther down near 84?

  4. It sounds like an amazing place to explore as your photos illustrate. Beautiful!

  5. What a gorgeous place, Laura. That last shot is spectacular. I’ve noticed the birds around here are mostly hiding out as they’re nesting now.
    Blessings ~ Wendy

    • You would love it here Wendy. Thank you so much for your comment. You know what? I bet that’s it. Normally there are so many from what I hear. I’ll go back in a month or so.

  6. I love that last image of the bridge and little building. It’s a great place to go for birding in the winter and spring.

    • Thank you! I guess it’s a bit late here for all the birds. I’ll definitely go back again. I’d like to go myself and capture the morning light and then again in the winter when it’s green and there are clouds in the sky. The did find a dead body there a few days ago though. Eek!

  7. Great exposure through the window. It’s not as easy as you made it look 😊.

  8. Beautiful pictures, and nice to see it! It looks the same. We visited most in winter, but summer was a good time to see nesting terns and stilts.

  9. My favorite part of the Don Edward’s Preserve, is right near the Dumbarton Bridge on the Menlo Park side. I would sit there for hours, watching the high tide roll in. A lot of shore birds eating crustaceans. Occasionally seeing a Coopers hawk soaring down to get a field mouse. Great times. Great Read

    • Hi there Tareau. Thanks for reading. 🙂 I haven’t been on that side of this particular bridge and frankly I’d never been to this location before. I loved it!! Isn’t nature wonderful? 🙂 Have a good rest of the weekend!

  10. Pingback: Don Edwards Wildlife Refuge – Laura Macky Photography – Nomad Advocate

Leave a Reply

