Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Mare Island Magic

35 Comments

I know I’m a bit bouncing around but I forgot to post some Mare Island images.  Blasphemy!  I know you’re all on the edge of your seats (ha!) so i thought I’d post the rest in a gallery here.  What I really love about architecture are the textures and shapes and the way the light reflects off the windows.  Each scene seemed to call out to me in a different way so I had fun over a few days processing all these.

For those of you who are wondering, I really adore my Sony A7!  These were all taken with a 16-35mm Sony-Zeiss lens which is a fantastic lens.  It’s almost as wide as my 14-24mm Nikon and seems every bit as good, although I don’t do scientific tests and have yet to use it for a night shot.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

35 thoughts on “Mare Island Magic

  1. Fantastic shots, dear Laura! Super well done! And an authentic Californian light! 🙂

  2. The lenses you mention Laura are from the same manufacturer. The processing electronics in whatever Nikon are also Sony … 😀 😀 Love your photography and the way you see the subjects but that you knew already!

    Greetings from Napier in South Africa,

    Herman

  3. Very cool! No.. I am never on the edge of my seat… I am scared I will fall off!

  4. Rats, I don’t have JavaScript….

  5. These are beautiful photos Laura. I’m adding this to my west coast list, if I ever make it back out there.

    • Thanks Dan. 🙂 It really is a fantastic place. I love that it’s an historic park too rather than knocking it down for “development”. We have enough developments.

  6. This is a great series. I love the texture of the bricks and wood, and the lines and shapes of the buildings. The perspective and lighting for #3 is very nice as is the the composition of #8. Seems there is something I like about each one.

    • How nice of you to say! Thank you so much. I tried to put a variety in there. I’m glad you like #8…I kinda liked that one myself. Those big smokestacks are mostly gone around here so it was neat to see that one in this historic park.

  7. Nice images Laura. You and your club have been very busy lately. I bought the Nikon 16-35 f4 recently and love the lens. A great focal length.

    • Thank you Bob. 🙂 We have been busy! In fact I need to set up another outing. What I really adore about that lens is that the sony and that lens together are infinitely lighter than my D750 and my 14-24mm. Makes it so much easier on a walk around! What camera do you use?

  8. Laura, these are fabulous photos. I love the long shadows. I think my favorite it #4. 😀

  9. Wonderful photos. I picked up a Sony a6000 and have been using it for all of my landscape photos recently. I love it. I’m using my Nikon for all my wildlife photos as I can’t get a long enough telephoto lens for my Sony yet.

    • Thank you Tux! I think I might be moving more away from the Nikon. I’m keeping it of course as it’s nice to have two cameras. And I’m also in the dilemma of needing more lenses. Oy!

  10. Lovely light and shadows going on in these images Laura! My favorites are 1,2,4, & 9. I loved those arched windows and doors in #1.

    It’s been a couple of years since I’ve spent any time up there. It’s a great venue.

    Looking forward to seeing some night photography made with your new kit, and reading your thoughts.

    • Thank you so much! I like that first one as well and is why I put it #1. I love symmetry and while a lot of photographers don’t focus on it so much, I really adore it.

  11. loved this, so beautiful 🙂

  12. Gorgeous images Laura. I’ve really been thinking about going with a mirror less kit and I was looking at the Sonys. Given that I just purchased my 5D M3 I think it’s going to have to wait awhile. 😉

    • Thank you Edith. I will say that more and more I’m taking this camera. But um yes…you have a very nice camera there! It’s hard for me to justify completely switching and buying all new lenses unless I sell my D750.

  13. wonderful Laura and I love that translucent pearled blue of the windows of that one building.

Leave a Reply

