Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

It’s the little things in life…

63 Comments

It’s been so incredibly hot here lately.  Ugh!  The heat along with the California fires and the world news are enough for me to throw my hands up in the air.  But then all of a sudden something makes me smile…

This little guy was so cute sitting on this fence, and I swear he was looking at me!   Don’t you think?   He had such an innocent look about him too which is a look that’s hard not to feel good about.  🙂

I find that it’s the little things in life that make me smile.  Hope you are smiling today!

dove

 

 

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

63 thoughts on “It’s the little things in life…

  1. Seeing this beautiful just made ME Smile!! I just visiting blog “-) Awful about those fires … Stay safe.

    Cat “-)

  2. Sweet little bird, he’s looking right at you!

  3. Well I guess it is time for a visit north 🙂 60’s and beautiful. So terrible about the fires. We just got back from a trip south and man it was dry and the trees looked beyond sad. Such a hard thing to see! Your bird is lovely, yes, the little things can sure turn around a helpless mood.

  4. Lovely shot of a sweet little bird!

  5. Adorable. I agree, Laura, it’s the little things that make life worthwhile.
    Blessings ~ Wendy

  6. Very sweet, Laura. Stay cool!

  7. Of course he’s looking at you! Birds are hobbyist people watchers. I wonder what their names for us are? “Look you guys!!! There is a tow headed camera clutcher!”

  8. Aw, what a cutie! Yes, I’m smiling, and he’s posing for you! I think it’s hotter up where you are, but it’s been hot! I’m leaving the back sliding glass door open from 9:00pm until I go to bed then when I get up between 4-5am I open it again to let in cool air then close up the house when morning light gets bright. The house is staying cool until about 4pm when the A/C is kicking in.

    It’s good beach weather. 🙂

  9. Fortunately we can turn off the air around 7 pm. It’s off now and it’s nice. I can hear the crickets now 🙂

    • Haven’t the crickets songs been nice! You know what I’ve not noticed this month? June Bugs! I’ve not seen any! Have you? I’m wondering if they’re hibernating another year because we had rain? Or maybe they’re late this year because of the rain?

  10. Wonderful post, Laura! Thanks much and have a terrific week ahead! 🙂

  11. The little things in life are important, yes!

  12. We have Mourning doves here. Marc puts out seed for them on top of the air conditioner. They come and look in at him until her put out more.

  13. Great image Laura! Would happily trade you some of our chilly weather for your heat at the moment… 🙂

  14. Some times you do have to go looking for these small pleasures, but it is do refreshing when you find them…

  15. It is hot and humid here as well….

  16. I’m glad I saw this first thing in the morning. Good to start the day with a smile.

  17. All the little things… indeed! Thank you for sharing the beautiful little bird capture, Laura.
    So sorry to hear about the heat in California.

  18. I recently listened to The Secret Garden on Audible. Your wonderful photo reminds me of the section of the book about the robin. That book is so delightful, and I had totally forgotten the story.

    • I adore The Secret Garden!! I’ve had that since it first came out. It’s one of my favorites. The songs are so incredibly sweet when the violin literally CRIES! I love the fact this reminded you of that. Thank you so much!

  19. awwwww……I’m so glad this little bird could make you smile!

  20. Great shot, Laura. I completely relate to what you’re saying. I think it’s one of the reasons I’ve been checking out the botanical garden here so much. Little things. The beauty of nature. It’s a great balance for all the imbalance in the world these days…

    • Oh that botanical garden is so cool. There’s one over in Berkeley too but the GGPark one beats it.

      • I’ve yet to get to the one in Berkeley. I’ve checked it out online though. Yes, we have something special here in the City. I’ve been doing lots of macro of flowers, plants, and oddly enough, the bugs, flies, hummingbirds have all been taking pity on me and giving me great opportunities.

        • I hardly do macro. My back hurts bending over lol. Seriously. I think that’s why I don’t particularly like taking plants and flowers. Otherwise I think I’d enjoy it LOL. Glad you’ve been having such a great time with nature!

          • My macro lens is only an 85 mm so it forces me to get close. I’ve had to learn how to bend ‘wisely’. Lots of people use their tripods or monopods for macro. I imagine that’s one of the main reasons.

  21. Its odd but now that a bird dropped a gift on me last week I can not appreciate photographs of birds anymore!^!

  22. Totally agree with you. It’s the little things that matter.

  23. He was definitely looking at you 😉 What a cutie! Makes me smile too.

Leave a Reply

