Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Topaz Impression Update

40 Comments

Okay soo….all of a sudden the new Topaz Impression 2 runs on my computer.  I’m not sure what changed but it’s a relief that it’s working.  Yay!  I don’t think I’m going to have much more life in this 4-year old computer though.  The plug-ins and new photoshop rely more and more on graphics and my laptop integrates graphics processes on the CPU.   It may be time to upgrade in the near future to one that has a dedicated graphics card.

Anyway…for today I’m posting an image I created using the new Impression.  I really adore that they have masking in there now.  Yay!   I hardly ever apply a filter to the entire image so it’s nice that we can mask right there AND they’ve included a lot more blending modes plus a few new presets.  The other cool thing is that it does “real time” painting.  So when you brush over an area in a mask for instance, you see it as you paint.  It’s very neat!

I hope you all have a fantastic Sunday!  We are having beautiful weather here the day before our July 4th holiday.  I need to take some pics of flags tomorrow and I hope to take some fireworks.  I’m glad I’m in the east bay because we’ll be able to see our fireworks in the sky.  San Francisco will be fogged in once again on the 4th.  😦

Coastal in California - Muir Beach

Coastal in California – Muir Beach

 

 

 

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

40 thoughts on “Topaz Impression Update

  1. That is often how I see the world around me, but it greatly depends upon the day. 🙂

    For me, colors tell a story. I’ve been to Muir beach. The California coast is gorgeous.

    • Me too…I know what you mean about the time of day. I like color too….black and white depresses me sometimes. Glad you can relate the image to having been at this location too. I do love our coast! Thanks for your comment. 🙂

  2. Beautiful job on the image, Laura!

  3. Beautifully done, Laura! Like a impressionism painting, indeed.
    I heard about Topaz from my photo instructor last month, I haven’t download it, yet.

  4. oops, downloaded…

  5. Like your image and happy 4th –

  6. This is beautiful. I hated Topaz when I first bought it and now I love it. I put most of my images through it now. But I’ ve been thinking about a new pc, too. Haven’t even updated ps or lightroom and I’m having problems with plug ins not opening when exporting from lightroom to edit.

    • Thanks Emilio. I’m having some issues too as my Macbook doesn’t have a dedicated graphics card. It’s ok right now but I can tell it’s slower when using these plug-ins. The new Impression is so awesome with the mask feature!!

  7. Very beautiful!
    Liebe Gruesse Monika

  8. splendid… I was at Muir Woods and Beach last month… 🙂

  9. Interesting effects – do you use a photograph as a starting point?

  10. Pingback: Topaz Impression Update — Laura Macky Photography | Amazing Fine Art

  11. This is gorgeous. Perhaps I should stop painting; can’t compete 🙂 Wishing you a happy July 4th for tomorrow…A

  12. That looks awesome. Never tried it. But here is a 30 days trial version which I can look at. Thanks for the inspiration and for sharing this beautiful, artistic image. Smiles. Reinhold

  13. So lovely Laura! I love the impressionistic feel to this image-the light and colors are just beautiful-

    • I’m so glad you like it! I normally do more intense color but I rather enjoyed trying something else. This more matches the mood I felt at the time. Thanks for the nice comment. 🙂

  14. Nice editing. I like what you are doing lately

  15. I have ordered Topaz on my new Mac and will give it a try. 🙂
    Thanks for introducing this program, Laura!

    • Oh that’s great!! Did you order the suite or just Impression? I hope you let me know when you post something where you used it. I miss a lot in my reader. :-(. I think you’ll have fun with it!

Leave a Reply

