Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Bay Area Fly Over

73 Comments

Dave and I got the coolest gift from his daughter and her husband…a plane flight over the Bay Area through SF Air Tours.  We scheduled our flight for sunset and I’m so glad we did.  The light was absolutely incredible and shockingly no fog!  Well there was a bit of haze and light fog on the coast outside the Golden Gate but it only added to the beauty.

Let me say that these pictures are not that great.  Unfortunately the windows were not the type where you can take crisp pictures through them plus I discovered how mistakenly easy it is to change the ISO on my camera!  It’s so pathetically easy that I have to assign that button somewhere else.  Evidently this is a common thing that happens with this camera and I got to experience it first-hand.   Anyway, without going into all the drama that ensued with me trying to adjust settings on my new camera in a plane that’s moving….lol….here they are for your viewing pleasure.  I’ve tried captioning most all of them so you know what you’re looking at.

Just fyi, I’ll be off my blog starting Saturday for about 10 days on a break.  I’ll be back at the end of July!

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

73 thoughts on “Bay Area Fly Over

  1. Beautiful photos. What a fun thing to do.

  2. nice pics and ….amazing gift 🙂

  3. OH WOW! These are beautiful! You did a fantastic job of making images.

  4. Flying just for the fun of it, with a camera is great. And I do understand the window issue! Not that long ago I used a small 2 seater to land on an island, special lighthouse shoot. Sadly I discovered no room to use a DSLR! An old instamatic would have been better. I still enjoyed the ride 😀😀😀

  5. Now that was cool! Wow how high were you to get that shot…? A mile?

  6. Very, very cool! What a great gift. And a wopnderful view despite the unexpected issues.

  7. What a great gift! You can’t beat that view. Your area is so beautiful.

  8. You had such a gorgeous day for your fly over. 😀

  9. Stunning!! Very nice capture…

  10. What a wonderful gift. Great images Laura! Your opening image is definitely my favorite.

    • It really was a great gift! Thanks about the images and I’m glad you liked the 1st one….it was my favorite as well and is why I put it first. The hook! 😉

  11. Beautiful pictures, Laura! Rae

  12. Okay, this is just ridiculous, Laura! Henceforth, this view will be in my mind on bike rides over the bridge.😳👌

  13. Wow Laura, very beautiful post 😀

  14. Let me backtrack and say I was talking about the first one. I didn’t realize there where more! Excellent shots.

  15. You picked well going at sunset. The golden light in these aerial shots is beautiful.

  16. What a lovely gift. Thanks for sharing the images. Have a great time off 🙂

  17. absolutely wonderful Laura!! That sunset is stunning from above!

  18. Pingback: Bay Area Fly Over — Laura Macky Photography | Amazing Fine Art

  19. Laura, your images sure tells the story. Wonderful.

  20. This looks SO nice!
    Here in my hometown, Århus, they have just started flying round-trips over Århus in a seaplane – I want to try that 🙂 (http://www.seaplanes.dk/pressemateriale/)

  21. The sunset capture over Golden Gate is just jaw dropping to die for! What an amazing gift.

  22. Totally awesome pictures! Great post 🙂

  23. Fabulous! Especially that first one. What an incredible experience.

  24. We have something similar here, but you go on a helicopter ride instead. The best time of year is during the fall colors, preferably during the golden hour at sunrise.

  25. That first image with the bridge, the mountains and the fog.. superb shot.
    And such a lovely gift indeed 🙂

  26. What a great gift, though I doubt it would be as good for me to receive. I’m not a great fan of flying and have never been in a small plane. But these photos are a great argument for me to get over it. Maybe one day…

    • I thought I’d be nervous but honestly I was so busy clicking I didn’t even think about the takeoff! I’m more nervous in an airliner because of the size. Hope one day you’ll bite the bullet!

  27. What a great gift and a stunning experience! 🙂

Leave a Reply

