Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Learning (The Daily Post)

44 Comments

This is part of The Daily Post Word Press Challenge

Learning never stops for me.  Even though I seem to do the same thing every day physically, my mind is always running a mile a minute looking how to improve myself both mentally and spiritually.

In the last ten years I’ve learned so much about myself and am becoming more confident to express the real me.  Most of my life has been spent trying to please someone else so this transition sometimes is not an easy one.  I used to think it wasn’t worth it to learn more about myself or make changes in my life because I knew that there would be people affected around me by this change and I was afraid to deal with it.  But at some point it became a matter of survival, so onward I went in seeking my truth.

During this whole process I developed my hobby which is photography.  I started off not knowing a thing about it and have grown a lot especially in the last few years.  Learning was a challenge at times and still is….but I adore it!  What I love about it most is the opportunity to see beautiful places, away from big cities and the noise.  I especially love nature photography the most which is a surprise to me because I didn’t grow up in a family that enjoyed the outdoors but now I do!

The best part of learning is when you can pay it forward because after you learn you become more confident and excited, and that’s when you want to share it with someone else!   Who knows, maybe I will some day inspire someone to be a great artist!  Or maybe someone who is afraid to be themselves!  That’s what I’ve learned.

roots

When solving problems, dig at the roots instead of just hacking at the leaves. Anthony J. D’Angelo

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/learning/

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

44 thoughts on “Learning (The Daily Post)

  1. It is interesting how photography can be a transforming catalyst..well for some people and not others I suspect.

  2. Outstanding post, Laura, and I applaud you!! That image is striking!! And as for seeking your own Truth, oh yes, I understand fully. The “effects” you speak of, I know well. Yet to come into who we really are is what Life is all about!! I am SO proud of you, dear friend. Keep on digging at those roots. So not easy at times and it takes IMO a courageous Soul to do so. Just LOVE this post!!! ❤

    • Thank you! I never have done one of these Daily Posts. At least I don’t think so. I saw it in my stream so I thought “what the heck”. I’m so glad this means something to you! Did you see that quote I included on the image. I wonder if it shows up on all devices? Anyway I love that quote. Thanks for being proud of me. *GRINNING*

  3. …. And as far as your growth in photography, pat yourself on the back! YOU did it and no one else. And now it is time for you to teach, something I am just so thrilled for you about. You know so much!!! Darn it, again I am just so proud of you!!!! ❤

  4. Always a great thing to never stop learning. It’s been a pleasure watching your photography expand and evolve, Laura.

  5. We need to keep learning, stay curious! I don’t feel I’m doing enough at present, need to step up a pace!

  6. And that, ma’am, is a great learning

  7. Nice! A unique and interesting subject well photographed.

  8. Keep on learning, Laura! Thank you for sharing yourself in your post.

  9. Wow that’s impressive…..both the text and the image.

  10. We grow and learn together 🙂 I love to seeing what you do.

  11. what an artistic imaginative shot, I love it! its not just another pic seen 100x, its got a ‘twist’ 🙂 I’m with you on searching out the wilderness and quiet places.
    I loved reading this post Laura very much! art. is good for the soul. its also good for others’ ie the community and is undervalued!! teaching, is a wonderful priviledge for both student and instructor – I learn more probably than the class. LOL

    • I really appreciate your comment here Debi. I’m glad you like what I did with the roots. It really amazed me so I wanted the focus (pardon the joke) to be directly on the roots. I’m not sure what I would be doing without photography! It’s given so much. One thing about teaching (I just started) is that it makes me think about the technical points in detail and how I can make it simple and fun. You’re right…I probably learn more than the student LOL.

  12. we both found photography…and it helped us.

  13. Learn, grow, have fun is what I try to do. Great post Laura.

  14. Excellent post, Laura, full of hope and realizing a dream. Love your illustrative shot, too.

  15. Thanks for sharing your words of wisdom. I enjoy following your work!

  16. Well…that’s SOME shot. Beautifully framed and perfectly processed — someone with a lesser appreciation of nature would have processed the life out of the shot. I’ve seen it a thousand times. This hits the mark dead on.

    • Wow thank you so much! I tried it several different ways….it needs some contrast but not too much…some highlights but not too much. I’m glad it turned out in a pleasing way!

  17. This is beautiful, Laura. I feel we are similar in many ways. Me, always trying to please and learning to say “no” in my later years. Me, discovering more about myself through photography – nature photography. I love your analogy – dig out the roots….

  18. Really nice post! Learning is so important. You found photography, I found traveling. Well, untill I realized I only wanted to travel back again and again to the same place…! https://mybeirutblog.wordpress.com/2016/12/15/she/

  19. This is absolutely wonderful!

Leave a Reply

