Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Listening

115 Comments

Lately there have been so many stressful things going on in the world and in the states.  Everyone is shouting and no one is listening.   It makes me question what I’m doing to make this world a better place.  All I know is that if people do something they love and have the intent to share this love, then hopefully it will spread to others.

I’m doing my best to create outlets to share in person, like my camera club and teaching, which to me is so important because it prevents me from isolating too much.   Social media is great, but there is nothing like sharing in person.

I really believe that when we communicate online we can easily misinterpret things.   We read things the way we want to and unless someone is a fabulous writer, things can be so easily misconstrued depending on the mood we’re in when we read them.  It’s too easy for people to shut each other down and not work through things which I believe is some of what is causing us not to listen.  Read a headline or a snippet and we’re done.  No we’re not!  Not by a long shot.  We’re just getting started!

Landscape photography quiets me down.  It washes the world’s woes away from my head and gets me to feel in the heart again.  Our planet speaks to us but we don’t listen.  We can’t seem to hear or see the big picture.

What are you doing to share the love?  Please share your love with everyone in the comment box if you like.

 

I was reminded of something from Tolkien:
“I wish it need not have happened in my time,” said Frodo. 
“So do I,” said Gandalf, “and so do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”

Share the Love - Sutro Baths

Share the Love – Sutro Baths

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

115 thoughts on “Listening

  1. Pingback: Listening — Laura Macky Photography – Grumpy Railroad

  2. All of us need to keep sharing it as much as we can. Someone will be listening.

  3. Love the heart shaped hole in the rock.

  4. Excellent posting Laura, maybe you should also start another blog posting more of your feelings/observations?

    • Thank you so much Pete. I writer I am not but once in awhile I like to ramble. I started a blog for that purpose a few years ago but found I just don’t enjoy doing it that often, so once in awhile I throw something in here. 🙂 Thanks for the vote of confidence!

  5. Love your photo. I get in trouble with writing often. I have lost friends over misconstrued written words.

    • Thanks Sherry 🙂 It’s happened to me too. Sad isn’t it? Someone once texted me to apologize for something they did in person. Text? Really? Why not pick up the phone and have a conversation. That really pissed me off lol.

  6. Let me comment your photo so I love it! When I am on the beach in autumn or in spring when is nobody there I feel in peace, that’s great.

  7. Some very salient points: people do seem to take offence so much more quickly these days…..
    I think it’s a very insecure outlook on life, so by getting angry they feel empowered.
    As photographers, we are luck in that we have a positive way of channelling our emotions & with luck bring a little light into others lives.

    I love the photograph by the way……. 🙂

    David.

    • Thank you so much for all you said here. I totally agree about the insecurity. Our increased desire for the material in our society creates a lot of jealousy too and noticeable inequalities. A shame we can’t measure kindness and compassion and compare ourselves in that way. 😦 We are indeed lucky with our hobby! I’m not quite sure what I’d be doing without it!

  8. Such tough times we live in lately. I don’t wish to totally isolate myself but sometimes grabbing my camera and getting out in nature is the best respite for me. That along with spending time with close friends and family. I’m not much of a writer and prefer to let my images do the talking…maybe that saves me from getting into too much trouble 🙂 This image is so beautiful and soothing!

    • Thank you so much for sharing your feelings here. I’m not much of a writer either really and this kind of meanders but once in awhile it feels good to express my thoughts…mostly because it reaffirms things for me. I appreciate your kind words about the image too!

  9. Well said, Laura and a beautiful picture to accompany it. Just keep doing what you’re doing as long as it brings you joy. It will have an effect, although you may may not realize it most of the time. I’m sure you’ve had the experience once in a while where someone came up to you and told you about something you once said or did and how it had a positive impact. Those few times represent only the tip of the iceberg, I’m certain.

  10. Laura, I love the quote, your message, and the fabulous photograph. Good on you for making your part of the world a better place. Truly, if we all did the same as you’re doing, it would literally make a world of difference for those around us. I’m trying to show love more by saying yes to those around me when I sense God’s nudge to do so. Sometimes it means saying yes before I have it all figured out.
    Blessings ~ Wendy

    • Oh you do so much more than I do Wendy. You always speak from your heart which I love and wish I could do more of. I speak from the head a lot. I’m trying to speak more from the heart but it’s actually hard for me because I’ve been hurt so much in my lifetime as a child. It’s like relearning how to live and interact with people. I love what you said about saying yes before you have it all figured out. I agree!

  11. Such a beautiful serene photo. You do spread calmness to the rest of us. 🙂
    Love the Gandalf quote too.
    You are right, people do not listen properly. Here’s hoping we all take a little more time to try to understand what others are trying to say.

  12. I love the Tolkien quote, such a profound bit of advice for our time.

  13. Great photograph. I agree with what you say, I know too many people with too much time on their hands. And no idea what to do with it. Not a helpful situation.

  14. Yes, most of us can’t see the big picture; however, we sure can recognize the little pictures. We need to go beyond our miseducation and perceive the big picture! 🙂

  15. Tears in my eyes …. Laura, your heart is so open and so loving. I like you have the same thing in mind my sharing love through Petals. Your image is a masterpiece! Wow just wow!

  16. Marin Headlands? Looks a bit too tranquil

  17. Great result, Laura! Thanks for the helpful link too.

  18. Well said! A beautiful image too 😀 Love the line “washes the world’s woes away”!! Can I use it in a poem?

  19. You always make me happy with what you share, Laura, both the words and photos. I know you must have that effect on others as well. Keep on being you 😊.

  20. Love how you got that camera club going for yourself and others around you too. Things like these are what we look forward to. I could do so much more like you but work calls for me these days 😀

  21. I have enjoyed your photos and words, keep it up.

  22. I have to tell you that I love it when you break out and write from your heart. Maybe I pay more attention to what you say because you do it so infrequently. But I still miss your other blog. Oh, and your pictures are always worth more than one look.

  23. Lovely photos like yours sometimes say it all.

  24. So true, Laura.
    The ocean speaks volumes, the forest whispers and the mountains stand with a voice that is strong. But if we sit in our chairs at home between fours walls we will never hear those voices at all.

  25. What a gorgeous photo, Laura. Love the shadows of birds in the sand.

  26. I love that you share the absolute beauty of this place Laura! Me, I love being able to share our world … Love my camera! 😃

  27. A wonderful thoughtful and meaningful post Laura at such a difficult time in the history of our world. Every day we witness events that make us despair but words and images like yours and so many others in our shared blogosphere remind us of the beauty that surrounds and turns despair into hope. Thank you.

  28. Hi Laura,

    Nice post about listening. It is a sad commentary about how things have become. The shouting, the angriness, the talking past one another, etc. has become very tiresome. The internet and all the devices, to an extent, has enabled it. But, it all gets back to us in one way or another. Being polite, being nice, being kind to one another is seen as a weakness, or should be reserved for certain instances. We should be that way everyday, with everyone. And, yes, everybody should stop being offended and outraged about something or another.

    Thanks for letting me step onto your soapbox. I wonder if those plastic containers that hold those laundry detergent pods qualify as a soapbox? LOL. 😉

    Have a good weekend, and a good week ahead.

    • It is really amazing isn’t it. I love what you said about how we should be kind every day. It’s scary because we are absorbing the anger around us yet we are the ones that create it. 😦 And yes! I think the laundry detergent pods qualify. Is there a real soapbox anymore?? lol I hope you have a good weekend as well….thanks so much for your comment! It’s greatly appreciated.

  29. I feel the same, Laura! Not many people are listening and reading. That is the reason why a deleted nearly all of my “social media” accounts. Facebook – deleted, Twitter -deleted, Pininterest – deleted, Google+ – in the process of being deleted. Flickr and 500px will go as well. What do I keep? WordPress blog, homepages and MAY BE my new Instagram. Not sure about that. I prefer to meet and talk to people lately. I prefer to show my images as printed versions to real people. The world is going bananas! And I try to compensate that with my love to shoot landscape photography. But isn’t it also a sort of lying to myself? If I look at the news with Merkel, Erdogan, Trump, Syria, VW, Deutsche Bank and all the other odd people and scandals in this world, I feel like dreaming, like a person who’s time is over. I am not interested in a toothbrush talking to my iPhone, online dating, fashion out of the box, super talents. But I think I am just getting older. I hope I can contribute a bit of normality for myself, my blog, the world with my photography. Not sure. This is a really nice image and a stunning meaningful post. People like you motivate me to continue what I am doing. Thanks for that and keep on rockin. Smiles. Reinhold

    • You are awesome Reinhold. I love people who can talk meaningful content rather than the superficial BS. I’m not into fashion or hollywood etc either. i find that mundane although I do love some TV shows! I deleted G+ as well. I keep FB because I do enjoy all the photo posting and thankfully it seems to be the most of what I’m doing there as of late although once in awhile something pops its head up. I don’t mind the occasional pop up but when it gets too much I just unfollow someone (not unfriend), that way I don’t have to see it lol. The way I see it, money and power have gotten so corrupt. It’s awful! It really is like a dream…or maybe a nightmare. I’m glad you are who you are and contribute such beautiful work for all of us to see and appreciate and have a smile in our day we otherwise would not have. I’m glad you enjoyed the post and thank you so much for your wonderful contribution toward it! Have a wonderful day. 🙂

  30. If your ideas and words are beautiful and true, no one will misinterpret it….. I think
    Beautiful capture……

  31. Beautifully said in both words and visual terms!
    xoxo,
    Kath

  32. I have been to the Sutro Baths many times, Laura, but I have never seen it so beautiful as here on your blog. Your photos here and in the next few posts, are really handsome. Nice job.

  33. Beautiful photos Laura! Like you, photography is my “happy place” and soothes the soul.

Leave a Reply

