Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Aspiration

68 Comments

I think it’s time I take a break from all the color saturation and post a black and white image.   This is the same bridge as in a previous post from the other day (seen here).   In both images the bridge seems surreal in a way, and there is an almost unattainable feeling in both images to me.  In the previous post it was like a mirage in the distance, but in this one I feel as though the bridge is a conduit to something unknown but good.

What does this image say to you?  I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Aspiration - Martinez Regional Shoreline

Aspiration – Martinez Regional Shoreline

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

68 thoughts on “Aspiration

  1. I like this one pretty much. The composition, the bridge leads my eyes… also the image is pretty symbolic.

  2. Both pictures are great, although personally I prefer the coloured one. They look like something out of a storybook.

  3. My eye was instantly drawn to this image, the texture of the wood on the bridge is leading my eye. The dramatic shape of the bridge curving into the sun makes me feel like there is a quickened motion to the image and yet the person walking looks to be taking their time. It says a lot and almost makes me feel like “the end” is quickly approaching with open arms. Beautiful!

    • Oh I love your comment Carrie. But then I’m really not surprised I would the way you see things and write. 🙂 I feel exactly as you do with “the end” and approaching with open arms….hopeful. Thank you so much for the thoughtful comment!

  4. Love this monochrome image…all strong shapes and textures

  5. Off into the sunset. Wonderful and whimsical.

  6. I love the monochrome image. I don’t see it as leading to a sunset, but rather crossing the dark chasm of night to another glorious sunrise.

    • Thank you for your thoughts on the image Norm! I definitely see it as symbolizing something hopeful rather than an end so it fits with your view of the image. Thank you again!

  7. Amazing since I love color, but I like the b/w best. It is intriguing~

  8. Super nice work Laura!! Love the bridge design too. 👍🏻👍🏻

  9. I love the symbolism of an old man crossing over into the bright light. I think the composition and exposure are just perfect. This would be a good “teaching ” photo for students’ analysis and comments.

  10. This image is open to so many interpretations. Go towards the light? Everything about it seems so well executed.

  11. wow, such a great shot and a great bridge, I love the whimsical feel to, such a feeling of hope and happy endings

  12. Neat effect! 🙂 It reminds one of a great (philosophical) Wallace Stevens poem:

    Twenty men crossing a bridge,
    Into a village,
    Are twenty men crossing twenty bridges,
    Into twenty villages,
    Or one man
    Crossing a single bridge into a village.

    This is old song
    That will not declare itself . . .

    Twenty men crossing a bridge,
    Into a village,
    Are
    Twenty men crossing a bridge
    Into a village.

    That will not declare itself
    Yet is certain as meaning . . .

    The boots of the men clump
    On the boards of the bridge.
    The first white wall of the village
    Rises through fruit-trees.
    Of what was it I was thinking?
    So the meaning escapes.

    The first white wall of the village . . .
    The fruit-trees . . .

  13. Perfect composition and beautiful in B&W, Laura.
    This photo tells stories poetically, stories of one’s life journey. Here, he sees the light and is moving into the next stage of his life.

  14. I was just thinking what Amy said! it is to me a Beautiful…. process of transformation. an old worn thing – changed and transformed. Lovely Photo!

    • Thank you so much! I’m glad it seems to resonate similarly for people. I like the worn bridge and transformation descriptors. I appreciate your input. 🙂

      • you’re welcome Laura…. wondering what was Your…. catalyst for this image? and how it came to be 🙂

        • Thanks for asking! Well it started out being a problem taking a person in the shot because all my camera club members were around it. Then I realized I needed to try to get a person IN the shot which is not common for me. I do it sometimes but they are usually tiny in the frame because I usually like to show expansiveness of nature and how small we really are on this earth. But as I was approaching the bridge, as in the first bridge shot from afar, I had that surreal feeling into the light as if I was seeing a mirage. So when I finally decided to include a person and saw the starburst, it gave me that same feeling of walking to the light but with a different composition. I thought they related well to each other. Thanks so much for asking!!! I really appreciate it. 🙂

          • this is so interesting to me! I like hearing the HOW and WHY. and that it started out…. as a ‘problem’ and then became a SWAN – is just a magical thing. imo. that starburst, with its brilliant light is so symbolic as is the bridge. Thank you Laura, for sharing your thoughts on the image’s genesis. very insightful!! cheers, Debi

          • You’re so welcome. Thanks so much for asking! I’m not that great about writing but trying more lately. 😉

          • yep…. and… So Much to do, not enough time to do it all 🙂

  15. Pingback: #Aspiration #Photography #debate #RookieOfTheYear #AMAs #BigManWitten #AMAs #Flames #TMobileONE #AssassinsCreedMovie #HEREinTimesSquare – Power Insan

  16. It looks like a good day ahead. Wonderful photo.

  17. Maybe it is my own penchant for shooting into the sun or my fascination with creating B&W images but I really like this image. I agree, the composition speaks ‘into the unknown’ to me. I also love that you included a person in your image. It adds the feel of a journey and reinforces the conduit message. Well done Laura!

    • Thank you so much Mike. :-). I had taken one without a person…well part of one which I was going to clone out but decided to go with this one instead. I’m glad you felt unknown here as well. There is something blank feeling in a way which is the unknown to me.

  18. Old man following the light. Wonderful composition!

  19. Just a beautiful black and white. Love how the bridge is leading the man to the light. Heavenly.

  20. B&W…..oOo…exciting 🙂

  21. Hey Laura – I love the vibe and it deals feel like something good awaits!
    Now I need to go and see the color one in order to compare – 😉

  22. Fantastic image, Laura. The bridge, the person walking towards the light (sun)… pretty cool story telling and I think the B&W adds special interest to the scene. Stunning. … is it the original crop? I wish you could have added a little bit of “breathing space” to the top (head of the person)? But this is just my personal taste. It is perfect as it is. Smiles. Reinhold

  23. I agree, Laura: “unknown but good”. Excellent shot. 🙂
    Blessings ~ Wendy

  24. Perhaps its the fact that I lost my Dad earlier this year, but my instant reaction was that it had a spiritual quality, leaving this world for the next…….whatever that may be.

  25. I really like this photograph. It looks to me like the elderly gentleman has lived a long life and had a long journey that soon may end as he is crossing the arched bridge and is walking into the light and the silence of the meadow beyond.

    • Thank you so much. I love your description so much. 🙂 Although my camera club member (who is the elderly gentleman in the image) might not like being called elderly lol! 😉

  26. it works for me Laura! Gorgeous composition and light!

Leave a Reply

