Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Las Pulgas Water Temple

29 Comments

Obviously I’m addicted to water temples these days LOL.  I asked Dave to take me across the bay to photograph “the other” water temple called Las Pulgas Water Temple.   The structure itself isn’t as beautiful as the previous one I took pictures of, which is located in Sunol, mainly because there isn’t a rotunda with a mosaic, rather it’s open to the sky (see below).   However, the grounds are absolutely gorgeous!!  It has such a stately feeling.

At the top of the temple reads, “I give waters in the wilderness and rivers in the desert, to give drink to my people ” [from Isaiah 43:20].

A bit of history:

This temple was built 28 years after the Sunol Water Temple.   The Pulgas Water Temple is a stone structure west of I-280 at 86 Cañada Road, Woodside, California, United States, designed by architect William G. Merchant.  It was erected by the San Francisco Water Department to commemorate the 1934 completion of the Hetch Hetchy Aqueduct and is located at the aqueduct’s terminus.  In 1938, the original water temple was replaced with the current design.

 

Las Pulgas Water Temple

Las Pulgas Water Temple

Las Pulgas Water Temple

Las Pulgas Water Temple

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

29 thoughts on “Las Pulgas Water Temple

  1. I have been to Woodside, but knew nothing about this lovely structure, Laura. And what beautiful photos you’ve shared.

  2. So beautiful, dear Laura. I love the composition as well as your editing. 🙂
    Blessings ~ Wendy

  3. That first photo is lovely, Laura. ☺

  4. This is beautiful Laura! I didn’t even know these Temples were here! Thanks for sharing them and your lovely images.

    • I didn’t either! One of my camera club members mentioned the Sunol temple and another mentioned the Pulgas temple. I love finding these kids of things! Thanks so much. ☺️

  5. Absolutely love the first photograph, Laura. The colors and composition, the entire setting is serenely lovely.

  6. Perfect composition and colors, Laura. Leeds the eyes straight to the temple. Bravo!

  7. Oh, wow, that first picture with the stunningly colored water is simply gorgeous!

  8. You’re amazing! Looking at your pictures brightens my day 🙂

  9. Gorgeous, Laura! Thank you! ❤

  10. Laura, I have been away from WordPress, and once more, your photos are so strikingly in tune with everything I love. I grew up in San Francisco and the Pulgas Water Temple was a destination for our family Sunday drives. As a child, the place always made me feel full of wonder. I still remember the parents screaming at us not to fall in as we raced ahead of them to the magical marble columns. Thank you, thank you for bringing back a profound childhood memory.

    • What a great memory and a great experience for children. I smiled when I read this. Glad I could bring back some memories for you. And welcome back to WP. I’m getting ready to take a break on a couple weeks. Sometimes it’s good!

  11. I didn’t know there were such temples in America. Thanks for the background history.

Leave a Reply

