Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Fly Me to the Moon

112 Comments

I am totally addicted to the supermoon!  And I keep singing all kinds of songs to do with the moon.  So while you’re viewing these photos, you can click on this link and listen to a bit of Frank Sinatra!

A little about these images…they are not composite images.  Not that I think anything is wrong with creating artful photos but I’ve been asked this about the photos on Facebook and thought you might like to know.  They were taken from the Pleasanton Ridge in the east bay on Saturday and also from Walnut Creek toward Mt. Diablo on Sunday.  Both days I used my Nikon D750 with the 28-300mm lens.  A lot of these are aggressively cropped.

I put my favorite photo first independent of the gallery below which contains the rest of the images.  Hope you enjoy them!

Pleasanton Ridge

Pleasanton Ridge

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

112 thoughts on “Fly Me to the Moon

  1. Amazing !!!! Here in France near Paris, it is a so cloudy evening today pfffff… But I have this king of superb picture to dy my tears 🙂

  2. That was the best one for sure. Gotta love that lens!

  3. Fabulous!! Really good work! Here in Norway we also have a cloudy and rainy night.

  4. It was black and cloudy here too with heavy rain’ but the moon broke through at 10pm so I got to see it. So beautiful, with a big ring around it here.
    Gorgeous photos Laura!

  5. You might… 😜 I was so happy to see it. So beautiful and full of glorious light!

  6. These are stunning! It’s too cloudy for us to see the moon in London, but your photos are just amazing!

  7. Laura, they were all beautiful; the Pleasanton ridge seemed especially stunning to me. great work, just lovely!!

  8. Amazing! You found a way to really capture it!

  9. Beautiful set of photographs LAURA.

  10. just gorgeous Laura, Melbourne put on it’s finest for a night sky event…..it seems every time we have some wonderful event, like the Super Moon, Melbourne hides it behind a wall of CLOUD…………we got nothing, zip, nada, zilch! Oh I did briefly catch a glimpse behind some cloud on the way home. 🙂

  11. Great capture Laura – I saw this moon but couldn’t stop! Please you got a good photo

  12. Outstanding Image of the Moon, Laura. I like it.

  13. Yah, to the moon and back. Top images.

  14. Fly me to those moons and let me play among those stars

  15. Fantastic pictures! I love the one where the huge moon is next to the tree on top of Pleasanton ridge, but all of them were well worth looking at twice.

  16. Wow, the trees in the feature photograph have a miniature feel to it and the moon looks as though it’s CGI’d in because it looks unreal (in the best way possible). Really cool.

  17. Didn’t get to see it myself. Your pictures are stunning! You never fail to impress me with your captures!

  18. Wow!! Beautiful moon capture!!

  19. Very nice. Weather was only fair around the SC coast but Ellen did get me out anyway. It was nice to see the moon from the shore, even if it was hidden often.

  20. Your photos are stunning. Did you get any sleep that night? 😀

  21. Thank you for sharing these gorgeous photos.

  22. Impressive! 🙂 Millions of years ago, the moon was a lot closer to the earth… and it (then) always looked big (not that i was there)! 🙂

  23. We had nothing but clouds here…

  24. OUTSTANDING, Laura!!! Just outstanding! I am in awe of what you have done with this full super moon! Your pictures look 3D, and surreal. Beautifully composed and edited!! WOW!!! ❤

  25. Gorgeous!!! “Aggressively cropped…” Sometimes you just have to do that! I love these, my dear. They are amazing! We didn’t get to see the Super Moon at my beach – clouds and mists and rain, alas. Thank you for sharing these!!

  26. Wow .. Great images. You had fun 😃

  27. Breathtakingly beautiful Laura. Thanks so much for sharing them all. Sadly it was too cloudy here further up the coast. Oh well…looking forward to the next time in 2052 !!!

  28. These are fantastic, Laura. On super moon night I only got a short glimpse of it as it peeked out from behind the clouds. I was in our hot tub and my camera was a flight of stairs away. But at least I can see her here on your site. 🙂
    Blessings ~ Wendy

  29. The supermoon was really a dud for us. Too many mountains- which didn’t seem to bother you at all. So what am I complaining about? I guess just my lack of knowledge. I did get some shots but they were all overexposed so the moon almost looked like the sun coming up over the mountains. But I guarantee you. 2035? I’m going to be all over this baby!

  30. Pingback: Fly Me to the Moon y Laura Macky | Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

  31. Absolutely wonderful shots Laura. What an amazing view!

  32. Wow, absolutely stunning photos

  33. Loving your pictures, and I am a Frank Sinatra fan…the music is so appropriate and blends perfectly Laura! Hugs!

  34. This is the best super moon shot I have seen, and I have seen dozens of cool shots.

  35. Pingback: Fly Me to the Moon — Laura Macky Photography | Amazing Fine Art

  36. “Wow, really nice shots” 🙂 You sure have captured the WOW factor.

  37. ! com/2016/12/01/fly-me-to-the-moon/” rel=”nofollow”>From 1 Blogger 2 Another.

  38. ! com/2016/12/01/fly-me-to-the-moon/” rel=”nofollow”>From 1 Blogger 2 Another.

  39. ! “Wow, really nice shots” 🙂 You sure have captured the WOW factor.

Leave a Reply

