Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Soon…very verrrrry soon….

43 Comments

I’m “almost” finished with the store.  I took a break yesterday from it.  Yay for breaks!

In the meantime, I thought I’d share with you this HDR image from last year from atop Mt. Diablo.  The function of this door is still a mystery and why I call it “Door to Nowhere”.  It was a bracketed three exposure photo taken on my D7100.  Even though I’m on my D750 now, the D7100 is a great camera….the shot came out nicely on all three bracketed photos which made it easier for me to process it into one photo.

Not that I’m an HDR expert by any means, but from what I’ve learned about processing my own photos is I’m a firm believer in not just clicking a button in a filter and calling it done.  The Photomatix or Nik HDR merge is only one step within my photoshop files.    And I must admit I really love the editing stage…it’s my favorite part. 🙂

I’m now embedding links from my photo website into my blog so that when you click the image, you will be taken to my website.  You can then scroll to the bottom and click where it says “click here” and it will then take you to the store.  Why upload more images when I can just paste a link here!  Gotta love technology.  *sometimes* 😉  Have a nice weekend everyone!

For description and pricing, [Click here]

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

43 thoughts on “Soon…very verrrrry soon….

  1. This really is technically flawless for me 🙂

  2. Well done. And some great pictures on the link

  3. I was just there a month ago, Laura, but missed taking a shot of that mysterious door. Too bad as it would have fit the photo theme challenge well.

    • Oh were you? It’s kind of innocuous actually. The door I mean. Maybe next time then. If you’re out there again, send me an email. I’ll meet you. We are right at the base of it almost.

  4. Nicely composed with great lighting. Also nice processing; appears you didn’t go too heavy with the HDR as (in my opinion) some do.

  5. Brilliant shot, Laura. It really does look like a door to another world beyond. Looks a bit like a door to a time portal too. Good to hear the store is coming along nicely. Good luck 🙂

  6. I like the photograph but I cannot put into words what feeling it is evoking in me… Just enjoying the overall mood is not enough..one is drawn to the door and then deeper into the pattern on it…. Thanks for the look

  7. One day, I will figure out this store thing.
    My experience with HDR – you have you work the sliders….

  8. stunning shot and feel to this.

  9. I love this shot – gorgeous with that alien looking light!

  10. This is so brillant! It really looks like a door to nowhere – perfectly placed and spotted!

  11. Just absolutely perfect Laura

  12. Very interesting door there! Good shot!

  13. The lighting is incredible! Maybe it’s the “Door to Anywhere” your imagination can take you 🙂

  14. Reblogged this on kingnoseven and commented:
    Tone yang keren

  15. It again proves that it’s not the equipment, it’s the eye behind the camera. Awesome composition and light. A bit like a snippet of a fantasy world. Love the post processing techniques you are using. Big success and fun with your shop. Reinhold

  16. I often find HDR to make photos look too fake, particularly plain landscape images. But in this photo the technique is perfect, it adds that feeling of eeriness and mystery that the door itself impose on the viewer. A great photo. Furthermore it’s great that you internet shop is coming together. Must be exciting!

    • Thank you so much Otto. I do like HDR but I don’t like it when it’s over the top either so I “try” to keep mine restrained a bit. 🙂 So difficult for me to be restrained! haha But when I saw this I did feel sci-fi eerie so I’m glad you felt that. Thank you for the best wishes on the shop. 🙂

  17. Beautiful, surreal, and not overdone at all!

  18. Laura, this is an amazing image in so many ways! I love the subtle coloring in the sky and the soft touch of green peeking through the railing. And can we talk about that gorgeous light on the door?? Excellent!!!

Leave a Reply

