Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Looking Up

90 Comments

Today was a lot of firsts for me.  A first trying out my new camera (a Nikon D750) a new lens (Nikon 14-24mm), and a first for walking as far as I did on my new knee.  I seemed to do pretty well although I’m on ice now, lol.  The image is of an arch at the Legion of Honor in San Francisco.  It was a beautiful day and I had fun trying out my new equipment.

I’m not used to seeing things through a full frame camera, not to mention this kind of a lens.  I was mesmerized by what I saw.  It’ll be fun to try more architecture…….and I mean SOON!

Legion of Honor

Legion of Honor in San Francisco, California

 

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

90 thoughts on “Looking Up

  1. Excellent photo, Laura. I hope you feel better. 🙂

  2. That’s spectacular! And your new knee did a good job!

  3. Beautiful shot Laura. May I ask what you shot with before?

  4. Oh congratulations on the new lens and camera! Lucky girl! This is a gorgeous image, captures the magnificence of the arch and detail of the carvings at the same time. Nice.

  5. Laura, the angle, the shot, the color, the texture … all WOW! And the editing …. WOW! And the knee!! WOW!!! I say HURRAH! for you! Excellent shot and I am so happy for you playing with new toys. I have yet to see what a full frame camera looks like … no not true. My Samsung is. (smile) Love, Amy

  6. Hey Laura .. Looking good! Hope that knee is ok! Santa gave me a new camera too .. What a guy 🙂

  7. Congratultions on the new gear, enjoy it. The photo is great.

  8. Love it and love that you have a new camera. …. we can go forward together. ..

  9. I’ve been blessed to have traveled to 42 States and 29 foreign countries. 95% of my trip photos are of buildings, monuments and triumphant arches. I love classical architecture and it has always inspired my work as a designer. Very interesting vantage point. Brings out the details, almost in 3D.

    • Wow that is a lot of traveling…lucky you! I’ve only been to a few other countries besides the states and I love architecture too. The a palace of a fine arts is so beautiful. I’d like to get there at night. Thank you for your comments. 🙂

  10. wonderful gift of imagery!
    may you continue to heal and stretch boundaries 🙂

  11. I love the image, the detail is amazing, congrats on the new camera and on pushing your limits (knee and lens!) what a way to end on year and start the next. 2015 should be exciting.

  12. It’s amazing, the angle the detail and the subject!!!! Wonderful shot!

  13. I hope your knee continues to do well!
    Mine is slowing improving… after arthroscopic knee surgery.

  14. That is amazing… I am really looking forward to more of this… I hope you’ll get well soon… 🙂

  15. I’m glad you did pretty good on the new knee. I’m looking forward to more photos as you experiment. This one is neat.

    • Thank you Dan! I was just calculating it’s only been 4-1/2 months so I really am doing quite well actually. Glad you like this image. I was in AWE looking through my camera and lens. Sheesh!

  16. That’s an amazing picture! It made me feel like I was actually there. Beautiful shot! Hope your knee didn’t suffer too badly from all that walking.

  17. A great start. My guess is that arch is not so tall. If you don’t already have one, get a 50mm f/1.8 G. It is very light and makes a nice light package with the D750 for casual or walk around shooting. It only costs about $220.

    • Thanks Ron. 🙂 The arch is tall but I’m not sure exactly how tall. I would guess maybe 40 feet? Thanks for the 50mm suggestion. Some day I will get one…after I sell all this other equipment! lol

  18. Reblogged this on B.E.S.T. Arts Gallery and commented:
    Making me woozy! Great perspective Laura!

  19. Just lovely! Hope your holidays were splendid!!

  20. Congratulations on every part of the message, but mostly for the good walking.

  21. Congrats on the new camera and the wide angle lens.

  22. Great image of that arch, Laura. I’ve been there twice and still haven’t been pleased with my results. I’ve had better luck at the Palace of Fine Arts, however, and you’re right about trying for an evening shot. My favorite was at twilight 15-20 minutes after sunset.

    • Thanks Robin. 🙂 I have some POFA images as well, but I’m dying to go there at that exact time…right after sunset. There were SO many people yesterday it was crazy. I’ve never been there on a Saturday so I was unprepared for how busy it was. I’d love to see your image if you’d like to paste a link? I might’ve seen it but I’ve forgotten.

  23. What a great end to 2014, Laura: a new camera – not at all green here 🙂 – and new lens with which to make even more use of that new knee. Lovely shot!

    All the best for the new year,
    Shelagh

  24. The colors of the sky looks like it was a great day to be outside. Wonderful architectural shot Laura 🙂 such a lens is on my wishlist as well, but Santa just brought me a 70-200mm lens, so I also have a new toy to play with this year.

    Happy New Year! 🙂

  25. Congratulations on all fronts – getting out when things are looking up is wonderful.

  26. I’m Looking forward to seeing more! Congrats on the new equipment.

  27. Congratulations with the new camera and I wish you all the best for 2015!

  28. Laura – this photo is just stunning. I’ve come back and looked at it several times since you posted it. I look forward to seeing more from your new equipment (camera and knee!).

    How did you decide on the Nikon 750?

  29. That’s awesome Laura 🙂 Great composition and the detail is beautiful! Happy New Year!!

  30. Wow, great image Laura. I don’t visit your site enough and it’s sad because I love all of your photography.

    How’s the new gear? I am in love with the d750 but I haven’t been shooting long enough to justify even thinking about making the jump. I can’t wait to see what else you make with this stuff.

  31. A truly magnificent shot. The mass of the structure stands out, and yet the detail is resplendent in its delicacy. Kudos, and congratulations on the mobility with your new knee.

Leave a Reply

