Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Being Unique

53 Comments

I think it’s so important to try and be unique.  For me, I spent a lifetime trying to fit in with everyone around me, but lately I’m realizing that to be myself is what’s most important because therein lies the truth.  It’s definitely hit or miss with making the connection with my inner self onto an image, but I can’t help but have fun trying!

What can I say?  I ADORED Yosemite at Christmas!

My apologies for being a bit vacant with my following right now.  I hope to get back to a regular pace today.

Wonderment

Wonderment

Should you wish to purchase this image, please click here.

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

53 thoughts on “Being Unique

  1. I hope you are reading “Big Magic” (I was given a copy for Christmas and it is wonderful) and keep images like this one coming, Laura. I always feel your happiness and excitement for creative living through images like this one. The movement and enchantment just sing in this image. Love it!

    • Oh my…is it corny that your comment brought a happy tear to my eye??? Thank you Carrie. Your comments always means to much to me. And no! I haven’t even heard of Big Magic. I’ll have to check it out. 😀

  2. Love the photo Laura! And you’ve written so beautifully about uniqueness. It seems many of us get a bit lost in this world being taught to be what’s expected whereas it would be so much more natural to trust and value our own uniqueness.

    • I’m so glad you like the photo and my words Elina. It’s been a long road to hoe for me in this area and it’s nice to finally be me. I hope you had a wonderful holiday. 🙂

  3. This is MAGICAL… i love it ~

  4. Great photo as always Laura, glad your holiday was fun.

  5. That really is a wonderful photo.

  6. It has taken me more than half my life to realize being unique is what counts. I used to shun people who were too unique. I didn’t care to stand out too much. But now, I realize that any one interesting is unique, has something unique to offer. I’m still trying to translate that into my images but I think you have no problem in doing so. I also believe what keeps you unique is that you do not cling to one way of processing your images. You do not have a certain “look” that someone can point to and say “Oh, that must be Laura Macky’s!” Having said that, I love what you’ve done with this image. The snow seems to be melting onto my lap top. 🙂

    • Oh Emilio…I so know what you mean and I’m glad you can relate to what I said here in this post. Congratulations on being YOU! And I think you are unique in your processing…I always look forward to what you post (when I’m reliably looking at my feed that is haha). Sometimes I wish I had a look. I think some of mine have a look but then I do venture out. I justify it that people are multi-dimensional and I don’t like being stuck in a box. Thanks so much for such a nice comment! Hope you had a wonderful Christmas!!

  7. That is absolutely stunning! Print it and print it big 😄

  8. You have me floored with this one, Laura. I ask, “How did she DO that?” Absolutely incredible mystical portrayal of the power of Mother. Just wow!!! ❤

    • Oh Amy, thank you! I love it that you would wonder how I would do it but even more, I’m happy you appreciate the magic of mother nature! I know how much you love and adore it. 🙂 It was so amazing standing there looking at this!

  9. Pure mystic and magic Laura 😀
    So amazing.

  10. What a stunning image, and you’re so right to be yourself is the best gift you can give yourself….and the world. The freedom to share from your unique world view💕

  11. What a truly beautiful image.

  12. Your inner self is looking good, beautifully done.

  13. Wow! Fabulous image and sounds like you had an amazing Christmas 🙂

  14. Really, really beautiful. You have captured the serenity and hope of the season!

  15. I visited Yosemite several years ago – in June and it was amazing… 🙂
    * * *
    my very best, lots of inspiration & Happy New Year from Van Ness, SF! 🙂

    • Thank you so much Melanie! I’m glad you experienced Yosemite. So many people who live right where I am (only 4 hours away) have never seen it! Now THAT’S amazing. 😉 Happy New Year to you as well!

  16. A stunning image Laura! And I agree print it big- I find there are no coincidences and reading this post today was like a gentle tap to be true to your vision- I struggled too over being one of many or standing apart- it can be hard but oh so freeing-keep up your wonderful, wonderful work!

    • I smiled reading this comment. :-). Thank you so much and I’m glad my words had meaning for you. While I enjoy all the long exposures and glorious saturated images and I like knowing how to do them, there’s nothing quite like doing something from ones own inspiration!

  17. Pingback: Channeling Macky | Photos by Emilio

Leave a Reply

