Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Five Month Report

4 Comments

Today I had a five month check up with my surgeon and everything checked out a-ok. Hurray! I couldn’t wait to demonstrate my range of motion, and he was duly impressed. He didn’t measure it and never does, but I’d say it has to be somewhere around 135. It’s about the same as my other “good” leg which measured around 135 at the physical therapist’s office a couple months ago.

I thought I’d compile a chart (at bottom of this post) that shows my emotional and physical states in a range of one to ten. For example, ten on the emotional scale means very happy and one on the physical scale means my body/knee are feeling terrible. I’ve also included a medication data point to show how much the medication reduced over time, ten representing taking the most medication.

I’ve also included some grey circles. They represent milestones and are listed here:

Week 3 = Went out of the house for the first time to Starbucks.

Week 7 = Went to the gym for the first time to ride the recumbent bike…rode for maybe 5-8 minutes.

Week 11 = Finally starting to feel human again. I’ve heard that there is a three month mark for many people to start feeling better. They were right!

Week 13 = Started driving regularly.

Week 20 = Note I had a setback, but this was one day. I attribute it to doing a new activity repeatedly that aggrevated the knee. Everything has been good since then!HEALTHTRACKER

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

4 thoughts on “Five Month Report

  1. You must have been reading my mind! What a timely and helpful post! I found it interesting that your emotional low was at the three week mark, just where I am. It is very encouraging to see how much better you felt both physically and emotionally from this point on. Another interesting note for me is your medication line. Because I have been working a little I have been cutting back on the meds, but by the end of the day I am in a fair amount of pain. Thank you so much for sharing this information!

  2. Pingback: Year 2012 on Speed | Laura Macky

  3. What a great way of looking at it Laura, glad the set back didn’t affect you for too long.

Leave a Reply

